Performance Difference? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2006, 04:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Ya maybe, your 4000 is stock at 2.4? OR 2.6??

3800 x2 is stock at 2.0. There will be a lot farther to go.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 05:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

2.4ghz stock. Yeah a 1ghz oc would be god like!
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 06:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

ya on an amd, if we were talking c2d it is a piece of cake. lol
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 04:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
Guess you missed the part about the Big Typhoon...

Guess you missed the part about his friend having it at 2.9GHz on stock cooling
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 04:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

1 ghz overclock on a c2d is childs play!! lol

and reaching 2.9 stable is incredibly hard.. i was having hard times at 2.7 running 3dmark05
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 05:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Yeah 2.9 3.0 is no walk in the park.


Requires lot's of voltage unless you get a really good chip.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 06:20 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

I had 3ghz at 1.50v but now somethings wrong. Could you help me try to hit 3ghz again?
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 06:34 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Even a A64 4000+ at 3.0Ghz is pushing it, there's no way a X2 3800+ is going to do with anything less than chilled water or sub-zero cooling. The 4000+ will be better for a single task, while the X2 will be better for multitasking.

Quote:
Originally posted by jorsoft03
See for yourself:
http://www23.tomshardware.com/cpu.html
Please don't link Tom's Hardware Guide in any respectable discussion.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 06:38 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

What's the safest voltage for a x2 3800 that idles at 23-25 degrees celcius with a big typhoon.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 06:50 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Is the temperature in your room around 75°F or something? lol.

Depends on your definition of safe. To some, safe is 1.5v. To others, its 1.7v. Go figure. =/
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.