Performance/Comaptabality - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2006, 02:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Default Performance/Comaptabality

I have done some research and have not been able to determine compatabality/performance for the following system. I have a Gateway FX510XT, Pentium 965 Extreme Ed.(3.73GHz,1066MHz FSB,2x2M cache,HT), on an Intel Motherboard w/975X 10/10/1000 LAN, with 4096MB PC5300 DDR2 667MHz SDRAM (4-1024MB modules, 1000GB (1TB) 7200RPM SATA II w/Raid 0 (2-500GB HDD) w/NCQ, 700-Watt Power Supply, running ATI Radeon X1900 CrossFire Ed. 512MB, Dual DVI, VGA Support with an ATI Radeon X1900 XT and an ATI Theater 550 Pro TV Tuner. My question is will an Ageia PhysX Card be compatable with this system and if so what would the performance expectations be? Does anyone know or can anyone refer me to a site that can answer this question? Thanks.
__________________

LeopoldStotch is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 02:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

It will barely boost system performance, it's meant to graphicaly enhance certain physical events in certain games, not really boost performance.

You will know if it's compatible with your motherboard, if your motherboard has an open, non-used, free slot in which the card you desire requires.
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 02:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Default

I was interested in what kind of boost in graphics I could expect. I guess I was not very clear in my post. Thank you for your reply. It may not be worth the price to put one in then I take it?
LeopoldStotch is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 05:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

It's crappy. Take a look at this review: http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/06/19/can_ageia/
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 06:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

It seems some things like explosions and crashes or anything that breaks or blows up with look better or sometimes look like crap but it will definatly lower fps a noticable amount it seems.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 06-26-2006, 08:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Default

The article cited doesn't say the Ageia card "crappy" but doesn't rave about it either. As for lowering fps, that cannot be all that bad, it should free up graphics card resources I would assume. Thanks for all the feedback. I appreciate the responses.
LeopoldStotch is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 12:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

What we had all assumed about the PhysX card is untrue. It really is a POS. I recommend you do a search on Havok FX. I don't know all that much about it, except it's software based, not hardware. You will need hardware to run it, like the PhysX card, but instead of their proprietary card, you get a second video card (or third if you have SLI/X-fire) and use the spare card as the physics card. It runs on all SM3.0 cards. It can end up saving you a lot of extra money. Such as buying at 7600GT for about $185 and using Havok FX, rather than $300 for PhysX.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 06:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Good info. I do recall something on Ageia's website about their having discussions with Havok regarding DirectX 10. Your solution sounds interesting - getting basically the same result at a much lower cost. Besides running x-fire with a third ati card with Havok FX software sounds like fewer compatibility questions. This is intriguing. Thanks.
__________________

LeopoldStotch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.