performance - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2007, 06:34 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by str8lazy View Post
Do those games even support dual core processing? If they do there should be almost no problems with computing the whereabouts of your objects. Like you said it only uses the one core. Therefore that is more than likely your bottleneck. Soon enough games with start support dual core processing more and more, and then we won't have to worry about these kinds of things
yeah I'm pretty sure rome total war is only single threaded so more cores will do nothing.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 06:35 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
This is strange because my freind has a 2GHz celeron, 1gb DDR ram and a GeForce 4 MX 440 and he can play this game and he has never had any lagg.
i find that hard to believe.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 06:55 AM   #13 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by str8lazy View Post
Do those games even support dual core processing? If they do there should be almost no problems with computing the whereabouts of your objects. Like you said it only uses the one core. Therefore that is more than likely your bottleneck. Soon enough games with start support dual core processing more and more, and then we won't have to worry about these kinds of things
It doesn't support dual core the game is about 2 years old so only uses one core

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
This is strange because my freind has a 2GHz celeron, 1gb DDR ram and a GeForce 4 MX 440 and he can play this game and he has never had any lagg.
on max settings at 1280x1024
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 09:17 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: performance

i also find that hard to believe. if a gts and e6600 lags a lil no way that could be possible unless the guy like 5 fps
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 09:28 AM   #15 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: performance

It only lags at triple speed though so maybe your friend never speeds up the battles....
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 10:30 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ...
Posts: 474
Default Re: performance

its only a bit of lagg lol, oblivion acts a bit weird for me aswell sometimes but the fps is fine usually staying above 70
khan008 is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 12:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: performance

hmm... odd. I used to run that game at high settings on an X800GTO with a P4 3GHz, and it ran smoothly with 6k guys.

If I remember rightly, when making a custom battle, the soldier count turned red when it was going to be a performance hit. It turned red on the P4 at about 6200 people.
joshd is offline  
Old 05-28-2007, 01:29 PM   #18 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: performance

I don't play the custom battles only the campaign..... and its only when I speed up the attles to triple speed that it really lags
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 09:41 AM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: performance

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
I don't play the custom battles only the campaign..... and its only when I speed up the attles to triple speed that it really lags
just reinstalled the game, and it still lags out when you have over 6.5k units on the field, same as my P4 with 1GB ram did! Surely the c2d @ 3.2 with 4GB RAM should perform better in game?!?
__________________

joshd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New AMD/ATI card kicks butt zmatt New Systems | Building and Buying 76 05-22-2007 05:39 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM
XP performance monitor disabled 1Mdlls Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-01-2007 11:01 PM
Performance Problem Verty333 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 05-01-2007 10:33 PM
Upgrade CPU or GPU which will give better performance.. Willeh New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-20-2007 04:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.