For People who still have AGP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2005, 04:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default For People who still have AGP

Over the past 2 days ive seen alot of AGP questions posted here like "which agp card should i buy" well here ya go. On evga's front page today it says that there finally shipping the 6800GS in AGP. its not on newgg yet but on evga's website it says it cost 250$. if it costs that much i would save another 150$ to buy a new mobo and the 6800GS PCI-E, but i've heard that the AGP version will overclock even more than the PCI-E version.
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 05:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Meh... I'd go w/ the new mobo... you can get a nice 939 or even 754 mobo for cheap these days... then nab a new cheap proc and a cheap or prett good pcie GFX card. Can range from bout ~200 to 500, but you'll be way better than being stuck on an old system.
__________________

__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 09:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default

I have a lot of time and money into my current machine that is only a year and a half old. To me I'd rather upgrade one piece of it than start from scratch. I spend 300 or 400 on a good AGP card; it's a lot cheaper than a whole new system. And I can still play the same games as you. Who's not thinking now? Soon your "not stuck on an old system" will have a part or two that is "out of date".
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 10:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

I have to agree with plumber here as i just bought a 6800gs agp and its coming soon. Dropping another 1k on new mobo, processor and video card would blow. The way i see it I'll just buy this new AGP card and ride out this comp till its a POS and worth completely building a new one. Besides with DX10 on the way I'd rather just wait for a video card supporting it.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 10:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

This is some of the best news i ever got. I was dreading upgrading my computer to PCI express, and now that this card is out. Wow, ill be the first to order it so I can give my PC some life.

Thank the lord
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 10:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

IMO it's just better to get PCI and PCI-E with a mobo upgrade save yourself future troubles.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 10:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Ya but you dont save yourself future troubles, you never will with computers. By the time my agp system is completely garbage, I'll have that extra time on anyone that upgraded now for hardware to improve so I'll get newer technology with all components. It's really a personal choice but I see no need in ditching a decent motherboard and a 3.2ghz p4 just to get a newer motherboard and graphics card that will be outdated anyways. As soon as you get hardware you might as well consider it outdated, otherwise you're just gonna give yourself a headache.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 10:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default

there's always future troubles with a pc. at some point down the road. I guess there's two types of people. Ones who trade in there car every few years and ones that keep what they got until it quits. I'm driving a 1995 Saturn with 140,000 miles on it. How about you?
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 11:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

I also have a 380 wat antec power supply, and the evga site recommends 300 wat. I assume that im good (my evga 6600gt works fine when overclocked on my power supply right now).
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 11:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default

Haha hsave some grief? Old and outdated? Look at my system! I have that DFI nF3 w/ now a 3800+ X2. Im in NO hurry to buy a PCI-E mobo yet. Im still gonna get a 7800GS instead though.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.