Pentium Guy Wants to Build AMD Rig - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2006, 02:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 26
Default Pentium Guy Wants to Build AMD Rig

I've got a decent P4 rig, and I'd like to build a comparable AMD rig just for giggles. Would like to see what all the talk about the AMD is about.

Here's the P4 rig:

Board:
http://www.dealtime.com/xPF-Gigabyte...E1000G_ATX_RET

CPU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116171

Ram:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145026

I'm replacing my video card with this one, next week:
http://www.newegg.com/product/produc...82E16814150131

I'm going to put in a SATA HD. This one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148107

The cooler:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835106042

I want to build an AMD rig thats as close to this in performance as possible. I don't want to overclock it to make it run with the P4. These both need to run in stock configuration. WHY? Casue I'm a newbie and I DON'T know anything about overclocking. Ain't gonna do it. So, the AMD CPU needs to be comparable to the P4 3.0ghz unit.

I really don't know anything about AMD. I read stuff, but I wouldn't know where to begin building a machine to match what I have.

Little help?
__________________

chrisharris is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 02:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

CPU:
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 (Venice) - $135
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103537

motherboard:
MSI K8NGM2-L - $63
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130041
has PCI-E

RAM:
2 x 512MB PC3200 (G.Skill) - $63.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231030

video card:
Leadtek 7900 GT PCI-E - $309
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814122244

Seagate 80GB SATA 3GB/S - $58
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148107

CPU cooler:
CPU comes with one

total = $628.99

*edit*
changed motherboard
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 02:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

don t that CPU run at 2ghz
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 03:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

actually it's 1.8GHZ
but if you know anything about AMD CPU's you'll know that it will perform about the same as the P4 3.0GHZ

put simply: the Athlon's can complete instructions in a fewer amount of clock cycles than Pentium 4's
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 03:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

actually the 3000+ is 1.8ghz. and that is not really relevant. i think for a laugh we should set him up with a 3700+ just to prove the point, seeing as its only $20 more than the pentium he listed :P.

edit: great minds think alike hey apok . same post time same answer "actually its 1.8ghz"
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 03:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yes, and the CPU will be even better.
not only that, but I also put in a PCI-E board with a 7900 GT instead of the 7800 GS he listed

CPU:
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ socket 939 (San Diego) - $212
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103539

motherboard:
MSI K8NGM2-L - $63
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16813130041
has PCI-E

RAM:
2 x 512MB PC3200 (G.Skill) - $63.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16820231030

video card:
Leadtek 7900 GT PCI-E - $309
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16814122244

Seagate 80GB SATA 3GB/S - $58
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16822148107

CPU cooler:
CPU comes with one

total = $718.99
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 03:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 26
Default

I haven't had a chance to look at the recommendations yet.

But, don't goof on me here fellas. I'm REALLY wanting to build 2 machines that will run about the same speed.

Some of you guys are listing boards with PCI-E and video cards that smoke the **** out of my card.

And the CPU. I gotta keep it comparable to the Pentium. I'd like to be able to compare apples to apples when this is all done. They might be 1 red apple and 1 green apple--but they are apples. Not apples and pears.

Appreciate the help. I'm looking at the recommendations right now............
chrisharris is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 03:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well think about it what is the point in building basically two machines that perform the same to compare them? why not build something around the same price as your other pc to show you how a comparably priced AMD system can perform against an Intel system?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 03:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

is amd planning on coming out with an FX 59? 3.0ghz vs. 3.0ghz. lets make it fair guys. like the guy said, apples to apples. lets see if the "reliability" and "stability" of the intel can make up for the SLIGHT increase that the amd's seem to show...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 04:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Definately seems like a real waste of money to build one just to try to be the same. I guess whatever butters your bread though.
__________________

Askar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.