PCI Slot Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2007, 05:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default PCI Slot Question

I just got one of the X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Professional series cards' for 80$ shipped. It says it included X-Ram..
what is x-ram?

Also.. I have 3 cards
1) Nic Card
2) Usb Card
3) Soundcard

But I only have 2 PCI slots. I was thinking about scrapping the Nic card, but is there anyway I can stick one of these cards in a PCI-E slot? I have a X1 and a X4.

If not..

what the HECK are those slots used for?
__________________

andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 06:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: PCI Slot Question

X-ram is just a random name the company made up. x1 and x4 is used for soundcards, additional usb, etc connectors, hd expansion, etc.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 06:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: PCI Slot Question

here:

Sound Blaster X-Fi
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 06:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: PCI Slot Question

so could I use my pci-express slot for my new xfi sound card?
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 06:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: PCI Slot Question

u mean PCI slot?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 06:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: PCI Slot Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
X-ram is just a random name the company made up. x1 and x4 is used for soundcards, additional usb, etc connectors, hd expansion, etc.
nah, i meant pci-e 1x/4x could it be used? Like I mean, are they the same form? Can PCI be put in PCI-e ?
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 06:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: PCI Slot Question

No, the pin pattern isn't the same. Neither the bandwidth. You just have out what you are going to throw out in place of the X-FI.

Don't you just love having a 2 slot motherboard. I have a 2 slot with one dead slot. So with my tv tuner I can't even use a sound card.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommendations for Slot Cooler for a GTX? Phanto New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-28-2007 10:04 PM
pci slot, need suggestions solidsteve System Upgrades 10 10-12-2007 10:01 AM
pci slot help rebell07 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 09-29-2007 02:45 AM
Desktop WiFi Card Doesn't Fit In PCI Slot? UsernameTaken Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 09-09-2007 09:42 PM
PCI Slot Case Cooler CPonder14 Overclocking and Modding 2 09-05-2007 03:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.