PCI-Extreme = 4x, how big a bottleneck is this - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2006, 01:49 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145
Default

I advise that you go outside and pick up your wireless mouse.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 09:16 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Hopefully the window was open. Hey I am still using agp but it seems for the long run jusr buy pci-e but I bought a x800 gto and modded it better than a 6800gt or gs so I am happy. If you still do go agp, this is a decent card. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150157
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 11:37 AM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

For AGP and a holder card the X1600pro is more of a better deal. I believe if the 7600 fits that you should have no problems. If it dosent, then well you do have a problem lol.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 12:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
suicide007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279
Default

I decided to go with this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814241016
and just waqit for the ge80, and get a new mobo when it comes out. btw, im getting 2 gigs of ram. do you think the ge80 boards will repuire ddr2?
__________________
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 02:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

I believe your confused. First of all its G80 and that is the code name for Nvidias next line of PCI-E graphics cards. Only your motherboard is the only thing that dictates what kind of ram you need. If your using AMD then you will need DDR1 for S939 and lower and DDR2 for Socket AM2. For Intel it depends on your platform. Some use DDR and others use DDR2. The only thing you have to worry about is if you have a motherboard that supports PCI-E or not.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 08:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

PCI Express x16 1x PCI-Extreme (Compatible with most PCI-E x16 graphics cards)


Weird. I'd talk to Newegg, or you can call Biostar and ask them if its a bottleneck. Don't you read reviews before you buy computer hardware?!??!
septoid2 is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 08:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

I bought a x800 gto for $155 with $20 mail in rebate and unlocked the pipes and oc'ed. I also heard x1600 doesnta actually have 16 pipes, only 4 but somehow 16. Someone told me that while getting my x800. After my easy modding and oc'ing its better than a 6800gt or gs. Runs a little hot but with good cooling it doesnt hit over 50 degrees celcius.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 09:10 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

Exactly why would it NOT have 16 pipes? If it didnt wouldnt that be false advertising? Yea uh huh. It has 16, and it smokes most budget cards. Also, there is no way an X8** series card is going to smoke my old 6800GT. Guranteed.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.