PCI-express 2.0 support - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2007, 11:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default PCI-express 2.0 support

Apparently, Intel has the only chipset (X38 Northbridge) that actually support the new version of PCI-express. But look at how expensive their motherboards are:

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

Not one of them are below $250!!! Is it worth it? Some don't even support DDR3, lol. I don't get how it can support PCI-express 2.0 yet, it doesn't support DDR3.
__________________

__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 01:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: PCI-express 2.0 support

just takes time to evolve...

If we go back a few years some AGP 8x motherboards only supported SDRAM and they all costed 300ish.
__________________

darksideleader is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 03:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: PCI-express 2.0 support

One of the Asus motherboard even offers a remote control so you can turn the PC on and off, lol. Wow. Pretty neat. I wonder if you still have to hook up the PWR and RESET wires from the case to the motherboard for that to work? Because if not, then your security has just been upgraded due to that. You can just use the remote to turn the PC on and off or reset too.
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 06:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: PCI-express 2.0 support

Don't waste your money just for 2.0 support. You can use a 2.0 in any PCI Express x16 slot. None of the cards use that much bandwidth so its not really going to help you.
turtile is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 06:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: PCI-express 2.0 support

PCI-E 2.0 and DDR3 are still a while away. Not fully developed and not fully usable.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 06:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: PCI-express 2.0 support

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRDCorolla1 View Post
One of the Asus motherboard even offers a remote control so you can turn the PC on and off, lol. Wow. Pretty neat. I wonder if you still have to hook up the PWR and RESET wires from the case to the motherboard for that to work? Because if not, then your security has just been upgraded due to that. You can just use the remote to turn the PC on and off or reset too.
you can make it yourself really easily and its been around for ages.....
Key fob - Kustom PC's Forums
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The worlds first tech support phone call. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 6 10-22-2007 04:36 PM
Nvidia 7600GT 256MB DDR3 PCI Express 16X ? Quake_City General Gaming 26 10-01-2007 02:40 PM
Second PCI card no detected in Windows khairilthegreat Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-22-2007 01:46 PM
Desktop WiFi Card Doesn't Fit In PCI Slot? UsernameTaken Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 09-09-2007 09:42 PM
HP live chat tech support superdave1984 Off Topic Discussion 7 06-06-2007 03:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.