PCI-E x1 Graphics Card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2006, 09:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default PCI-E x1 Graphics Card?

Hey, ive got a friend thats got PCI slots and and a PCI-E x1 card slot, hes looking for a good graphics card and i need shipping to canada, hes willing to put the cash into a card so im wondering if anyone has seen a x1 card around.
__________________

__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

AGP would be faster...does he have any AGP slots?
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

Regretfully he doesnt, be bought a dell and then bought a ATI Radeon X1900 XT, but his dell doesnt have enough power and i just realised he doesnt have the PCI-E x16 slot to use it, so hes returning it. He has 3 PCI slots and 1 PCI-E x1 slot, same with me except i only have 3 PCI slots which is leading me to make my own computer shortly as soon as i get payed. Will he have to upgrade his mobo to get a better card if there arent any PCI-E x1 slot cards around or that can preform higher?
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

This is the only PCI-E x1 card i've ever seen: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814161017

I'd upgrade the mobo so he can get a PCI-E gfx card
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 12:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

yeah, honestly just upgrade the motherboard. it'd be a bad investment to buy a PCI-E x1 card.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 12:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

for sure, That would be a waste of 90 bucks.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 02:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 190
Send a message via AIM to the yellow one
Default

yeah for 90 bucks you can get a pretty good one, either agp version of pci-express one.
__________________
I am the yellow one.
the yellow one is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 08:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Why do they even make PCIe x1 cards?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 09:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

For people who only have a x1 slot :|

Go fora new mobo and a new gfx card.
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 09:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
Why do they even make PCIe x1 cards?
not for people like you . they do serve a purpose, mostly they are used in workstation pc's. i didn't look at the link but i'm guessing that was a Matrox card?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.