PC upgrade questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

TermyBGL

Baseband Member
Hello all,
found your site and wanted a 2nd opinion on some upgrades I wanted to do soon ...

Please leave nothing out, I have good knowlage of PC's, gaming etc... I maybe not be at a "hacker" level but I'm also not a beginner.

Here are my questions, thanks in advance for any inputs.

----------------------------------------------------------------
I had a few question that I hoped you could answer ..

I saw the new AMD Athlon FX57 is out and is making a big name for it self. I currently have the following:

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 2,0 Ghz
K8N Neo Motherbaord
ATI RADEON 800XT 256 MB
2048 MB RAM

And was thinking of upgrading the above...

Firstly the AMD FX57, price wise is outrageous but I found dabs.com do a quite good pay monthly deal which is in my budget. Is it really THAT good ? But to be honest, looking at other reviews I am just about bought by this product. AMD all the way.

Motherboards I am not so sure on and need your help. ... I have never upgraded 1 or known much about them. Would you recommend I upgrade to perhaps a ABN SLI? Or another 1 known to be the Best for gaming. I want to keep my PC in the running for the future and money is no expense. Best of the best.

Graphics card I was looking again at Geforce 7800GTX. Would you say this is the Absoloute best buy? I currenlty have ATI after switching from a Nvidia 5600 a few years ago and was very impressed by my 800XT which seems now is in the shadows of todays market. Would the 7800GTX be a wise upgrade? Again, I want the BEST OF THE BEST which is likely to remain 1 of the the best for a while. Is Nvidia the best?

RAM I was going to upgrade by a few 100 Also. Maybe notch it up to 3000.

Does this overall sound like a good plan?
I currenltly play high demand games such as BF2 and lots of dramatically improving strategy games.