Pc to tv....is a risk??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2009, 05:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 10
Lightbulb Pc to tv....is a risk???

Hello again i want to ask if i can conect my TV a philips tft/lcd 24'' to my pc

vga gtx 285

is there any risk? for pc or health (more radioenergy)

the tv is 1 year old and never used.

whats the difference between HD and HDMI??

sorry if it sounds foolish or if i am offtopic.
__________________

ARMOROS is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 05:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Pc to tv....is a risk???

Yes and there are no risks a tv is just a screen like any other and most are LCD. Televisions normally are of much lower resolution then a computer monitor and imo inferior but they can be easily connected.

HD stands for High Definition which is a picture of higher resolution then 1280 x 720 as a standard definition in the TV world is 640 pixels × 480 lines which is the resolution. So the lowest for HD is 1280 x 720 which is known as 720p or 720i the difference being that one is progressive picture (720p) the other is interlaced picture (720i). The next step up is a 1080i or 1080p tv which is also known as full hd which has a resolution of 1920x1080. My 24" computer monitor on the other hand has a resolution of 1920x1200 and standard retail computer monitors go to 2560 x 1600 for a 30" monitors with professional monitors going higher. Therefore you could have a 100 inch hd tv and my monitor would have more pixels and therefore better colour definition even though its only 24".

HDMI is the port on the back of the and the cable used to send the signal. HDMI carries a digital signal so are DVI and coaxial (digital). Digital is superior to previous cables as it doesn't degrade as rapidly so the picture is more accurately displayed on a screen. Analogue uses a wave which can be easily disrupted and change shape leading to discrepencies in the picture. In contrast digital uses for arguments sake binary so 10101110000111 with checksums to make sure all previous numbers are correct this degrades at a much slower rate as for it to become disturbed and magically transform from 101110 to 101100 does happen but over a lot longer distance. In short at short distances e.g. under 1 metre cable choice on analogue or digital doesn't matter as that is not a suffecient distance for sufficient signal disruption to effect the image. For longer differences digital is superior.

The simplest way to connect your computer up would be a dvi to hdmi cable.
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 06:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Pc to tv....is a risk???

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
Yes and there are no risks a tv is just a screen like any other and most are LCD. Televisions normally are of much lower resolution then a computer monitor and imo inferior but they can be easily connected.
Thank you my friend i couldnt ask for more..
ARMOROS is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 10:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Pc to tv....is a risk???

more radioenergy?
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 10:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Pc to tv....is a risk???

I think he means the radiation given off by electricals which mainly is Electomagnetic with the occasional bit of microwave and IR thrown in for CRT's mainly.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 10:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Pc to tv....is a risk???

Quote:
I think he means the radiation given off by electricals which mainly is Electomagnetic with the occasional bit of microwave and IR thrown in for CRT's mainly.
i guess lol. But the electromagnetic radiation that is given off is very minimal.....and it is an lcd tv, which is much better for microwave radiation.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 11:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Pc to tv....is a risk???

I thought it was crt as they contain an elctron gun my bad.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-05-2009, 11:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Pc to tv....is a risk???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke View Post
more radioenergy?
Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
I think he means the radiation given off by electricals which mainly is Electomagnetic with the occasional bit of microwave and IR thrown in for CRT's mainly.
Yes that is what i mean

the tv is not so big to hurt my eyes so i guess it will do the job untill i get a proper one..

thanks again.
__________________

ARMOROS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Web-Based Malware Puts Corporations at Risk Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 0 09-22-2008 11:06 AM
Outdated Browsers Put 637M Users at Risk Osiris Internet Software and Browsers 1 07-12-2008 05:13 AM
To Raid 0 or not Raid 0 - worth the risk? BlueHeaven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-07-2008 10:30 PM
New Security Holes Put PC Users at Risk Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 0 08-08-2007 12:09 PM
New Attack Puts Routers, Cell Phones At Risk Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 0 04-19-2007 06:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.