PC Overhaul question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2012, 05:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Question PC Overhaul question

Ok, so I finally broke and upgraded my MoBo and RAM. Since I bought a OCZ Agility SSD w/ a 525/500mb/s read/write speed, I figured why not make the best of it Currently I have a SATA II compatible MoBo and it holds back the full potential of my two SATA III SSD's. Hopefully this will rectify the issue. In addition this is a DDR3 board with a max frequency of 1866mhz I made sure to get RAM to meet that.

I bought 16GB of this. I think I'll see huge improvements in speed. So I have two questions....

First, do you think I will even notice a difference compared to my current 8GB of DDR2 memory which I believe is capped at 800mhz? Also do you think I will notice a difference in seek times with my SSD since I think I'm capped at like 200mb/s... will that additional 300mb/s even be noticeable?

Last, I just did a fresh install of Win 7 two weeks ago. Will there be any issues reinstalling it again only after two weeks? It is an OEM copy.
__________________

__________________
pro2a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 05:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: PC Overhaul question

Quote:
Originally Posted by pro2a View Post
Ok, so I finally broke and upgraded my MoBo and RAM. Since I bought a OCZ Agility SSD w/ a 525/500mb/s read/write speed, I figured why not make the best of it Currently I have a SATA II compatible MoBo and it holds back the full potential of my two SATA III SSD's. Hopefully this will rectify the issue. In addition this is a DDR3 board with a max frequency of 1866mhz I made sure to get RAM to meet that.

I bought 16GB of this. I think I'll see huge improvements in speed. So I have two questions....

First, do you think I will even notice a difference compared to my current 8GB of DDR2 memory which I believe is capped at 800mhz? Also do you think I will notice a difference in seek times with my SSD since I think I'm capped at like 200mb/s... will that additional 300mb/s even be noticeable?

Last, I just did a fresh install of Win 7 two weeks ago. Will there be any issues reinstalling it again only after two weeks? It is an OEM copy.
Unless you get an FX CPU you wont really be able to take advantage of 1866 without OCing the FSB as Phenom chips have a max of 1600 officially supported. The difference between DDR2 and 3 is incredible really even on AMD.

To the naked eye the difference between SATA 2 and 3 on an already fast SSD is really not much if any at all. There will be no difference in seek times as that is governed by the SSD itself, not the bus.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 11:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: PC Overhaul question

So basically I could run at the advertised speeds if I wanted, I'd just have to overclock my CPU? That or get a new CPU?
__________________
pro2a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 02:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default Re: PC Overhaul question

Quote:
Originally Posted by pro2a View Post
So basically I could run at the advertised speeds if I wanted, I'd just have to overclock my CPU? That or get a new CPU?
Yes the older Phenom 2 chips have to be overclocked in order to run 1866.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 11:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: PC Overhaul question

I got everything put together, and something made a difference in speed. I'm not sure what, but it is noticeable.
__________________
pro2a is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gateway MX3215 Overhaul SubFusion System Upgrades 3 07-21-2011 09:04 AM
Total Overhaul....need help Eborn9609 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 12-29-2009 05:58 PM
System overhaul adamsad1 System Upgrades 3 09-22-2008 06:31 PM
PC Overhaul MerkwŁrdigeliebe System Upgrades 4 12-30-2005 07:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.