PC for AutoCad 2014 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2015, 02:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 413
Default PC for AutoCad 2014

Quick rundown of the situation: my girlfriend is a drafter and will be transitioning to working from home. She needs to have her own computer. I've been able to get the basic information on the computer she is working now at work to help pick the necessary parts for what I would build. She will need a full tower and dual-monitors. OS will be provided

Work computer:
Dell Precision WorkStation T5500
CPU: Intel Xeon E5620 @ 2.40GHz
RAM: 24 GB
CPU: ATI FirePro V4800 (FireGL)
HDD: 250GB

She currently uses AutoCad 2014; and uses the following programs daily: Adobe, Outlook Email, Excel (all day), Safari (google earth, USPS) and Windows Photo Viewer.

Her work consists of 2D drawings consisting of floor plans and blueprints for fast-food restaurants like McD's, BK, TB. Her models/drawings range from size depending on the restaurant. Her file sizes typically range from 6KB-12KB.

I've read that professional cards have certain drivers that CAD utilizes that regular gaming cards don't have? Does this mean to stick with a professional card like the V4900 ($145 on Newegg) or Quadro K620 (~$160) would be the route to go for the GPU?

Can this build be done for $1000 or cheaper for the tower and two 22"-24" monitors?
__________________

Ksingler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2015, 08:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: PC for AutoCad 2014

Sure it can, easily. Quadro cards do come with certified drivers for GPGPU applications but it's on a per application base what card will perform the best (AMD or Nvidia). Some apps prefer CUDA, others OpenCL. In my experience, it doesn't exactly help that much. At work we have K4000 cards running CAD in Z420 workstations and the GPU doesn't do much in the way of helping.

Here's a start for you.
Intel Xeon E3-1220V3 Haswell 3.1GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W Server Processor BX80646E31220V3 - Newegg.com
ASRock Z97 Anniversary LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard - Newegg.com
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-1600C9D-16GXM - Newegg.com
SeaSonic G Series SSR-550RM 550W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Newegg.com
Corsair Carbide Series 200R Black Steel structure with molded ABS plastic accent pieces ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Newegg.com
SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-N5E250BW M.2 250GB SATA III Internal SSD Single Unit Version - Newegg.com

That leaves plenty of room for monitors and possibly a cheap Quadro card. Take note, this base rig will run absolute circles around her current setup as it is.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2015, 05:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cb600fshornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: England, Birmingham
Posts: 361
Default Re: PC for AutoCad 2014

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Sure it can, easily. Quadro cards do come with certified drivers for GPGPU applications but it's on a per application base what card will perform the best (AMD or Nvidia). Some apps prefer CUDA, others OpenCL. In my experience, it doesn't exactly help that much. At work we have K4000 cards running CAD in Z420 workstations and the GPU doesn't do much in the way of helping.

Here's a start for you.
Intel Xeon E3-1220V3 Haswell 3.1GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W Server Processor BX80646E31220V3 - Newegg.com
ASRock Z97 Anniversary LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard - Newegg.com
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-1600C9D-16GXM - Newegg.com
SeaSonic G Series SSR-550RM 550W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Newegg.com
Corsair Carbide Series 200R Black Steel structure with molded ABS plastic accent pieces ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Newegg.com
SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-N5E250BW M.2 250GB SATA III Internal SSD Single Unit Version - Newegg.com

That leaves plenty of room for monitors and possibly a cheap Quadro card. Take note, this base rig will run absolute circles around her current setup as it is.
If OP builds that for her.... someone's gonna get laaaaaaaaaid
cb600fshornet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2015, 01:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: PC for AutoCad 2014

Is her work not providing a machine for her to work from home? Or even offering to pay for the system partially?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2015, 09:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: DFW area
Posts: 10
Default Re: PC for AutoCad 2014

I could not find a M.2 socket on that board. Is the link pointing to the wrong board?
Dallas Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 12:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: PC for AutoCad 2014

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dallas Jack View Post
I could not find a M.2 socket on that board. Is the link pointing to the wrong board?
Actually no, it's the wrong SSD.

Supposed to be this.
SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E250B/AM 2.5" 250GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) - Newegg.com
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 05:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 413
Default Re: PC for AutoCad 2014

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Is her work not providing a machine for her to work from home? Or even offering to pay for the system partially?
That's a good question. I don't think so. They will provide the AutoCad program but I think she is on her own for building a computer.

Thanks for the list of parts, PP Mguire. The move is still a few months away, but I can start checking Newegg now and start picking up parts.
Ksingler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 07:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: PC for AutoCad 2014

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ksingler View Post
That's a good question. I don't think so. They will provide the AutoCad program but I think she is on her own for building a computer.

Thanks for the list of parts, PP Mguire. The move is still a few months away, but I can start checking Newegg now and start picking up parts.
Saves you quite a bit there anyways.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 05:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cb600fshornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: England, Birmingham
Posts: 361
Default Re: PC for AutoCad 2014

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ksingler View Post
That's a good question. I don't think so. They will provide the AutoCad program but I think she is on her own for building a computer.

Thanks for the list of parts, PP Mguire. The move is still a few months away, but I can start checking Newegg now and start picking up parts.
That's ridiculous, are they going to subsidise your electricity bill?
__________________

cb600fshornet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apress AutoCAD 2004 VBA A Programmers Reference Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 03-09-2006 10:57 PM
autocad 2006 GrimReaper23 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 10-17-2005 04:35 PM
Building An AutoCAD Workstation... need help. havikgrafix Overclocking and Modding 8 04-05-2005 10:13 PM
Printer Problems with AutoCad 2002 Him Microsoft Windows and Software 0 03-01-2004 05:20 PM
AutoCad 2002 Josh Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-18-2003 11:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.