PC acting weird when playing crysis! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2008, 08:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 145
Default PC acting weird when playing crysis!

ok so you can look at my specs... i should be able to run crysis...
anyways it is really laggy and skippy and ctrl+alt+delete doesnt even work i have to restart.
any explanations???
__________________

__________________
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q...igns/pcsig.jpg
xfire:nhlrocker
msn:cave_daniel@hotmail.com
3DMark05:14,880
aquamark score:133,352 :)
nhlrocker is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 09:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: PC acting weird when playing crysis!

Could it be overheating? Maybe reinstall the graphic drivers. Or look up some hot fixes for this games, as I heard it's good for a performance boost. What resolution are you playing this game on?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 09:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: PC acting weird when playing crysis!

and not only that.. what quality are you playing on.. and are you using windows vista or xp... cuz if your using windows vista.. and playing on very high... you don't stand a chance... no where even near a chance unless playing 1024x768...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 04:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: PC acting weird when playing crysis!

on my system(which is fairly similar to yours, running vista 64bit), when in DX9 mode, game runs fine on high settings @ 1440*900. when in DX10 mode, i have similar problems as you do when i'm @ med settings. since the game really isn't in full DX10 except at very high settings, try right clicking the icon and going to "Run in DX9". might be what you're looking for as far as performance, might not.
Nohbahdee is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 05:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 145
Default Re: PC acting weird when playing crysis!

im running xp
and i push optimal system settings and it puts everything on high (not very high)
and my resolution is 1024 i think.
__________________
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q...igns/pcsig.jpg
xfire:nhlrocker
msn:cave_daniel@hotmail.com
3DMark05:14,880
aquamark score:133,352 :)
nhlrocker is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 06:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: PC acting weird when playing crysis!

ah ya... definitely not doing good then! it should be doing high okay.. especially at that res

try downloading the crysis 1.1 patch
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 12:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: PC acting weird when playing crysis!

I have been having the same problems also. I have patch 1.2 installed. Someone(Ste) told me to run memtest86 for four hours. I haven't done it yet but when I do I will let you know the results.

I should be able to play Crysis on high with no problems shouldn't I? Seems like there are a few people having the same problems. Maybe it is not the system but the game.

nhlrocker, when it is not skipping, what is your fps?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 01:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: PC acting weird when playing crysis!

Memory what drivers are you using. I've tried 4 drivers and reverted back to 169.44 which hasn't given me a problem.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 06:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: PC acting weird when playing crysis!

Step 1) Uninstall Crysis
Step 2) Install Call of Duty 4
Step 3) Profit

As for your original question dunno. Make sure you dont have anything going on in the background that is eating up CPU cycles as at lower resolution the game likes to use as much CPU as it can get its grubby little mits on.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-02-2008, 10:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: PC acting weird when playing crysis!

thirdshiftdj, the driver I am using is 7.15.11.6944. I guess that is the same driver as yours right?
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis community finds way to get Dx10 features into XP/Dx9 Osiris PC Gaming 5 12-20-2007 09:30 AM
Exclusive Crysis Multiplayer Beta Screenshots Osiris PC Gaming 12 10-03-2007 06:58 PM
After media relocation... iTunes acting weird... lazer_viking Microsoft Windows and Software 0 08-24-2007 12:14 PM
DVD burner acting weird...wont burn correctly. truegamer129 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-20-2007 07:46 PM
Crysis - Hands on...for those, wondering if they can run it.... b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 19 06-15-2007 02:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.