pc with 16 physical cores - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2007, 06:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 151
Default pc with 16 physical cores

Hi guys, I'm wondering if is it possible now(or you know about when in the future) to have a pc with 16 physical cores in regular home buget workstation. since quad quad cpus are out nowadays, I'm into very graphic intensive 3d applications in very resourse intense rendering. that consumes multiple cores. I've searched the quad core xeon that uses socket 771 but I couldn't find any quad socket, there is only dual socket(any reason why? and If you had articles about active vs passive architecture it'll be helpful too) and I heard that
Barcelona might make this possible, but when is it out and what socket does it use? 940? thanks for any reply.
__________________

gohand is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 06:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: pc with 16 physical cores

That's where we're heading right now. Adding more cores. Intel talks about 8, 16, 32, and even 100 core processors. So yes, it is possible.

There is a quad socket:
Newegg.com - Buy Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
Just not as common as the dual socket.

I think Barcelona is suppose to come out Q3, of this year. And they are going to use Socket F (Socket 1207).
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 08:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: pc with 16 physical cores

man i can never keep up, i buy dual-core and now theres 8-cores, y do i have an expensive hobby!!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 08:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: pc with 16 physical cores

We can only catch up for three months tops...
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 01:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 151
Default Re: pc with 16 physical cores

lol I expected this thread to be popular... I know there is quad socket for dual core opterons, but it's not enough... lol i'm already using a dual core opterson, but it's not even close to enough of catching up the rendering speed, need much much more, lol but I wish there is 100 cores lol... any more info? and why isn't there a quad socket 771??
gohand is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 01:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: pc with 16 physical cores

Hate to mention this, but having 16 CPU cores would not be considered, "Regular home budget workstations". I don't think such a thing would ever exist for the home budget. If you have such an incredible need for multiple CPU power, I suggest you try to locate a render farm and rent some time.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 08:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: pc with 16 physical cores

hmm... did u guys notice that what sort of RAM it uses...... 266/333/400 and did u notice that it has no room for video card just an integrated ATI Rage Video card... whats the point of having 64 GB of RAM and 4 really good CPU's if u only get an ATI Rage video card.... talk about the ultimate bottleneck..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-03-2007, 09:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Re: pc with 16 physical cores

Give it time... I wouldn't doubt to see boards like this being more common in the coming months... Very cool idea though.
augest is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 10:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 151
Default Re: pc with 16 physical cores

Quote:
Originally Posted by HAVOC View Post
Hate to mention this, but having 16 CPU cores would not be considered, "Regular home budget workstations". I don't think such a thing would ever exist for the home budget. If you have such an incredible need for multiple CPU power, I suggest you try to locate a render farm and rent some time.
actually system with new 2 quad core xeon (8 core) is possible to build in about 2-3k... (low end quad core cost around 500 and motherboard about 200-300)so i quessing 5k-6k might do if it actually exist..? Ok well then i would add "high end home buget workstation"
__________________

gohand is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.