Parts compatability - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2006, 02:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default Parts compatability

My friend is trying to build his first pc. I keep telling him that as long as you do your research a little bit and buy parts that fit ie. pc3200 ram for pc3200 mobo he should be fine. He keeps saying that the last time he built a computer (6 years ago) parts compatability was a big issue. He doesn't think i'm competent since i've only built 1 previous pc. Can i get this verified by the experts so he doesn't drive himself nuts wondering if the parts will work together. By the way, you guys will help me win a free dinner and the i told you so pride
__________________

Saucz is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 02:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

Well anything marked with a socket 939 CPU will work witha 939 mobo same with every CPU socket. Pc3200 RAM will work in a Pc2100 or 2700 slot it will just slow it down. any PCI-E card will work in a PCI-E slot. same with original PCI and anything marked "place anyting here" will match up to the same thing on the mobo.....

.......and your friend is retarted
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 02:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default

yes.... indeed he is. thank you... and so i am victorious
Saucz is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 02:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

He just needs to make sure all of the sockets/slots are compatable with the part. ie. 184-pin DDR RAM goes in a 184-pin DDR slot, 16x PCI-E cards go in 16X PCI-E slots, and a s754 CPU goes in a s754 socket.

How is he building his first PC if he has built them several years ago?
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 02:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default

well, last time he wasn't really building it building, he was just upgrading a couple parts. He had told me his horror story about how his mother board wasn't too friendly with his ram.
Saucz is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 03:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Lol, he probably put the wrong kind in, and it wouldnt hit so he probably tried the ol' hammer method.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 11:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 173
Default

.......and your friend is retarted [/B][/QUOTE]
lol thats the funniest thing ive herd in ages
adam06 is offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 11:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 173
Default

btw im getting a mobo and it says this about the RAM: Superior Dual channel DDR400 Architecture

im getting Corsair 1GB DDR Value select PC3200 CAS3.0
what the **** does that mean?
__________________

adam06 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.