parts - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2006, 09:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 24
Default parts

Im upgrading my computer slowly but surely and i was wondering which parts would help the most.
im upgrading:
Ram- current:780mb upgrade to 1.7gig
Proccessor- p4 1.7 ghz upgrade to pentium d 2.66 ghz dual core
Hard Drive- 30 gig upgrade to 160gig
Video card- geforce mx4000 upgrade to 7600 gt

Im using this as a gaming rig
the MSI V class mobo designed for p4 3.2 ghz max would that work with the pentium d 2.66 ghz core duo link to mobo
__________________

etomic13 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 09:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Let me ask you this; why would you get a Pentium D when the Core 2 Duo's are out?
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 09:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 24
Default

becasue i dont want to spend over $150 on a proc. Beside theres no huge difference between the pentium D dual core and the p4 core duo that would make me spent another $100
etomic13 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 11:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Since you are talking about upgrading all this, you will need to do it all at once since buying that CPU will force you to get a new mobo, and with it the capability for a PCIE x16 slot... So I would recommend this:

Sell off what you can, and save your money for a whole new core system. CPU, mobo, video, RAM, and think about a PSU... With new hardware comes new power requirements... You could use some existing parts, Hard drive, case, kb/mouse, etc... from your old one to save you some money...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 11:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 47
Default

there is no big difference ?????? ofcourse there is from the pentium 4 to the new (not p4) architecture core 2 duo look at the benchmarcks.
Kaiser28 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 11:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

^^^ Exactly the difference between the core 2 duo and p4's are astronomical, the e6300 is fairly cheap and will just destroy that pentium d your thinking of buying. I also agree with nukem sell it for as much as you can and buy a completley new system.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 11:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 24
Default

no i meant the Pentium D dual core vs the core duo. anyway i just bought a PSU, Case, Mobo, i like that mobo i was just thinking of getting a p4 3.0 ghz proc. off newegg.com there like $92 now and im just trying to get my pc to run BF2 right now but would a 3.0ghz proc. hinder a 7600gt that much. i know i mostly need that new proc. and video card so i might get that stuff for my birthday.(i get to drive then ) then work for the ram and the hardrive.
etomic13 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 12:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

just make sure that you get an AGP card. That mobo has no PCIE slot. but other than that is sounds like a plan...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 12:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 24
Default

my mobo has a pci slot i have an MX4000 in it right now. (lol funny story how i found that out when i first started building i had an ati rage or somethin like that in the agp slot so i tried to keep plugging my mx4000 into that slot and it wouldnt fit so then i found out it fits in the slot next to it that happens to be a pci)


Expansion Slots
AGP Slots 1x AGP 4X/8X
PCI Slots 3
etomic13 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 12:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

having a PCI slot is different from a PCIE slot... that one only has AGP specifically for video...
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

« IDE question | Psu »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.