partitions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2008, 09:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default partitions

I have a 250gig as my main just for my winxp os. i want to dualboot off a partition on this 250gig. But i dont want to mess up my xp thats already on there. Am i able to partition it in half without messing up the xp half?
__________________

__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 02-06-2008, 09:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Phoenix219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 89
Default Re: partitions

You should be able to depending on how much data you have on your drive right now.
__________________

__________________
Q6600@3.6
EVGA 780i Motherboard
2gb OCZ Reaper 900mhz 4-4-4-12
EVGA 8800gts 512mb 800/1080
2x Western Digital 250gb SATAII Raid0
Antec 850w PSU
Antec 900 Case
3DMark06 - 15544
Phoenix219 is offline  
Old 02-06-2008, 09:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: partitions

Dual Booting is really easy if you do it the right way. I used to GParted to get Ubuntu and XP on my Hard Drive, what Operating Systems are you looking to dual boot ?
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 02-06-2008, 10:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
lolwut?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: partitions

i have xp on there taking up roughly 40 gigs of 250. I want to put on 64bit vista on. I dont want to have to reinstall windows or anything though.
__________________
| Taintedplay | Q6600 | evga gtx 260| XP 32bit
taintedplay is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 03:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Drewser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Big Island-Hawaii
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to Drewser
Default Re: partitions

I was actually gonna post the exact same question until I saw this. I am thinking of doing the same but with ubuntu like Preacher. I'm running 32 bit vista on a 250gb HD.
__________________
*INTEL Quad-Core Q6600 GO (yet to OC...)
*EVGA 8800GT 650/950
*2GB RAM
*2X 150GB WD Raid 0
*22" Gateway HD LCD Display
*Delta 700W PSU
Drewser is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 12:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: partitions

You'll need an app like Partition Magic or Acronis DiscDirector to do this. That way it moves the data to create the new partition, otherwise you have to reformat. I would make a Ghost image of you drive before you partition it just in case something goes haywire though.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 01:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Drewser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Big Island-Hawaii
Posts: 115
Send a message via MSN to Drewser
Default Re: partitions

Thanks Synergy, I will look those programs up and try give it a go after some more research.
__________________

__________________
*INTEL Quad-Core Q6600 GO (yet to OC...)
*EVGA 8800GT 650/950
*2GB RAM
*2X 150GB WD Raid 0
*22" Gateway HD LCD Display
*Delta 700W PSU
Drewser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
URGENT HELP! Post Windows Install Keeps Deleting My Partitions datahead Microsoft Windows and Software 7 06-12-2007 09:57 AM
Question about hard drive partitions in Vista ? weswes Microsoft Windows and Software 0 06-05-2007 02:46 PM
XP HOME. Partitions! Willeh Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-11-2007 05:18 PM
Hard drive partitions... NathanLedet New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-30-2007 04:57 PM
Programs and Partitions Chaosenemy Microsoft Windows and Software 0 03-30-2007 09:29 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.