Partitioning a RAID - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2016, 08:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Partitioning a RAID

Whats people's thoughts on partitioning a RAID?
__________________

__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 02:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,308
Default Re: Partitioning a RAID

My thoughts are what purpose. Performance will decrease drastically depending on how many drives are in the RAID and how many partitions are being used simultaneously.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 03:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Partitioning a RAID

Just for organisationing the data. only 4 drives, was thinking 3 partitions, 2 would be used simultaneously to run 2 VMs in each. Other partition would be my ISOs datastore.

I'm happy to have it on 1 partition if it will cause performance issues.
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raid Data Recovery Software Raid To Raid Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 07-14-2009 12:34 PM
To Raid or not to Raid WWS New Systems | Building and Buying 6 12-10-2005 07:12 PM
raid 1 or raid 0 rhj399 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 08-24-2005 11:30 PM
Raid 0...raid 1 ?? ThePCmaN Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 05-07-2005 12:39 AM
Which is faster: RAID O OR RAID 1? chobers Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 02-12-2004 12:35 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.