p5b deluex mem help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2007, 12:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Default p5b deluex mem help

hello guys. im allmost done my computer build all i need is my mem. im lost when it comes to this part. i know i need 1.8 v but if i go higher will it hurt anything? allso here is a link for the one i would like to get


allso if i pick this up from newegg and it dose not work with my mobo will ocz help me out with that part?

ty guys

johnmd7 is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 12:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Console Gamer
fade2black2004's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,629
Send a message via AIM to fade2black2004

link doesnt work

fade2black2004 is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 12:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17

johnmd7 is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 01:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
darkop16's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16

what do you mean more the 1.8v will hurt it? I have a pair of g. skill HZ's that run at 2.1v.

That ram should work fine. If they don't then you could rma them or try different memory.

OCZ has a lifetime warranty. So if a stick goes bad, you should be able to call up ocz for a swap; and as i understand it, ocz has a good product service record. Newegg also has a 30-day return policy which lets you return the memory for a full refund within 30-days of purchase.
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 12:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665

By hurt it I'm guessing that he's referring to how the motherboard ignores SPD data and defaults ram at 1.8v. Its not going to hurt anything, it just might not boot. I used this for a p5b build and it booted just fine, and ran at the rated speed and timings, but not all were so fortunate it seems.

At worst you'll have to get a stick of 1.8v ram just so you can enter into the bios and change it to the 2v, then shut down switch out ram.
Sui is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.