p45 mobo - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2008, 05:38 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: p45 mobo

Does the biostar support xfire?
__________________

__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 05:53 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: p45 mobo

I have the Asus P5Q Pro. Great board for $140. I would recommend.
__________________

__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 05:54 PM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: p45 mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ventriac View Post
Does the biostar support xfire?
I think so but if you are planning on CF then you are better off with a X38/x48 board
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 05:55 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: p45 mobo

open box on newegg for 80 bucks.

Newegg.com - Open Box: ASUS P5Q Pro LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard

hmm i might get that

yeah i still haven't bought my MB/GPU/CPU/MEM haven't decided on waiting or not.. and haven't made any finals decisions on what i would buy if i didn't wait.
__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 07:20 PM   #25 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: p45 mobo

Yes the biostar does support Xfire. The slots are only 8x, but its PCIe 2.0 which means an 8x slot has the same bandwidth as a 16x 1.0 slot. For single gpu Xfire (4850, 4870) It should be fine. but if you want to Xfire 4870X2s then the x48 is a better option. You have a tradeoff there. The P45 is better at OCing and the x48 offers better multi card scaling.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 07:51 PM   #26 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: p45 mobo

yeah i'd stick withthe p45 mobo...with a 22" monitor you shouldnt need crossfire if you buy a good enough card.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 08:05 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: p45 mobo

Alright that sounds cool, sad that i'm building this now and plan on upgrading and buying a 26" monitor(gonna have dual monitors) with income tax.. I think I need better things to spend my money on. lol
__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 08:19 PM   #28 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: p45 mobo

well, if you PLAN on having crossfire (you'll likely be well off to have it with a monitor that big), you should go with the x38/x48 mobos.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 08:26 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: p45 mobo

when i upgrade in feb. i'll be buying new mb, mem, and nahalem. >< so i think that the mb will be fine for a couple months =p no point in spending 300 bucks on the rampage if i'm planning on upgrading in the next 6 months.. Right?
__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 08-23-2008, 08:38 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: p45 mobo

Sorry to jump in to the thread with my own question but is the Asus P5Q PRO P45 an ok board, i was told to get a P45 not a P35 but my budget is really stretched, this is only 81, one of the cheaper ones available..

My main problem is the OCZ vendetta 2 blocks off ram slots 1 and 2 on 3 different mobos according to a reviewer( he used pricey ones)..so lol no dual channel no matter what i guess...
__________________

Joeyboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
window on both side's and see through mobo tray ste2425 Overclocking and Modding 7 08-04-2008 06:52 PM
new mobo or cpu or both... Dainius New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-19-2008 10:38 AM
I need a new 939 socket mobo ASAP Denise_M System Upgrades 9 03-13-2008 09:37 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.