P4 overclocked to 8GHz !!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2007, 06:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default P4 overclocked to 8GHz !!!

http://www.engadget.com/2007/01/24/p...-core-2-try-t/


What you did think about this super high overcloking ???
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 06:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

You caught that too, eh? Its pretty impressive, but not very practical. A 4Ghz Core 2 Duo matches that thing. =/ Still, goes to show that Intel wasn't all hot hair when it said that the Netburst architecture would hit between 5 to 10Ghz. If they hadn't run into thermal leakage, that architecture would've gone places.
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 07:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421
Default

Already posted: http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=138892
Phrantic is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 08:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

How can a P4 go up 5Ghz overclocked? That's almost 2X the processor speed. Must have water-cooling.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 08:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
How can a P4 go up 5Ghz overclocked? That's almost 2X the processor speed. Must have water-cooling.
It's at 8Ghz, not 5. And the architecture has always been capable of this speed. Remember that Intel initially wanted this architecture to hit somewhere between 5-10Ghz in terms of retail processors. This was never possible because the processors started to leak too much heat after a certain point. But in conditions like those (they're using LN2, not water cooling), the heat element is entirely taken away. That means that you can pump as much voltage into it as you want, and it'll take the processor to it's physical limits.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 10:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Phrantic
Already posted: http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=138892
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.