p4 531 or p4 630 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2006, 04:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Default

does 1mb extra memory make $80 worth of difference?
__________________

sonicmacben is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 05:24 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

If you can afford it, it doesn't matter.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 09:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

the higher cache will not help. an amd64 3000 will smoke both of thoses processor. . do what i told u to do. Decide on a intel system with the p 531 and an amd system with a amd64 3000. and we will give advise on what to do. post a budget and if do you need monitor or no. and poeple here will configure a system that will suit your needs man.
efd753 is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 09:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

p4 sucks ***. go AMD if you are choosing that gen of CPUs
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 11:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

if at all possible, go to a 3800+ X2, only a 100 more, but worth it IMO.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 04:09 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

most definitely but in that price range is also the conroe e6300 and e6400 right?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 10:51 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

he looking into a processor that cost 85$$ and maybe a mother that cost in 40-80 range. conroe is out fo the question.
efd753 is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 12:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default

i have a 530J right now...
im gettig a C2D at Xmas
next thjing you know AMD comes out with AM3 :P
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.