p 6400 ddr2 question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2006, 12:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default p 6400 ddr2 question

i have noticed most of this speed ram on ebay, whether it be cheap stuff..or OCZ ,infineon and so on...the lowest CAS i've seen is 4...most of the timings are 5-5-5-12 . Is this normal for this speed ? and does cas really matter if im not overclocking?
__________________

badkitty is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 01:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Yea CAS 4 or 5 is normal for PC26400. If you're not overclocking, cas is not a high priority.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 01:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 61
Default

4-4-4-12 is faster than 5-5-5-12

If you had 553mhz DDR2 with CL at 4-4-4-12
and 667mhz DDR2 with CL at 5-5-5-12

I'd choose the 553mhz RAM.
SpannerMagnet is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 01:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default

ya but by how much ? is there a test that shows % improvement performance wise? just someone telling me its faster isnt enuff. so some people a 8% increase is everything, but if its the difference of $80-$120 for 8% then i wont do it.
badkitty is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 02:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 536
Default

i would wait for that crap to go down in price...its so **** expensive right now.
__________________
-C2Q Q6700 @ 3.4ghz(cooled by PetraTech's Elite Water Cooling Kit)
-DFI Lanparty DK P35-T2RS
-4*1024 sticks of G.Skill Ram 4-4-4-12
-eVGA 8800GTX 630/2000
-80 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-320 gig 7200rpm SATA HDD
-Sony DVD/CD burner
-NZXT Tempest
-Antec True Power 550 watt PSU


MACBOOK
-2.4Ghz Penryn
-2GB RAM
-250GB HDD
will h4x 4 food is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 02:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default

i dont want to wait. i need now..i upgraded my pc got the E6600 core 2 cuo conroe, ati x1900XTX 512mb, and ABIT AB9 MB....only thing holding me back from using it now is ram. I didnt know the C2D required DDR2..i only have pc3200 and iwant ddr2 800m


so i just read on tom's hardware and intensive test on tight timing low clock speed vs relaxed timing high clock speed. differences are only 2-5% ....but they did find as CPU speeds got towards 3ghz it increased by 3% more.

What was more interesting is they said 2 512mb in dual channel will run better than 2 1gb in DC. because the 512mb can run faster timings than the 1gb stick...hmm
badkitty is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 11:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Yup, most reviews report only marginal performance differences between high- and low-latency RAM. A few percents only.

Think of memory timings more like headroom for overclocking. The advantage of low-latency RAM is that you can can loosen the timings to achieve higher FSB and RAM speeds. Essentially you trade latency for speed.

If you're not overclocking, don't bother getting low-latency RAM. Save the money and buy more RAM, better videocard, etc. It's a wiser move in my opinion.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 03:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default

ya i just bought 2gb of PQI Turbo DDR2 Pc6400 timings 5-5-5-12, to go with my new ABIT AB9 MB, E6600 Conroe C2D, ATI X1900XTX 512mb. it will rock compared to my p4 2.4ghz (no HT or Htransport) 1gb pc2700 , Geforce 6600 gt oc.
badkitty is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 03:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 146
Default

um by the way..i just CLOSED this window..and i just 2mins of trying to close 60 windwos that popped up for this page...i couldnt even close IE thru taskmanager without it opening more...wtf
badkitty is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 11:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Only one recommendation, man: Firefox 2.
__________________

__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.