is this overkill... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2005, 07:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20
Default

whats overclocking lol....i dont know how to do that. and like said i have 2500-3000 grand
__________________

computer-dumb is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 07:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

use the search feature on tf, google or any other search engine...

overclocking is forcing a peice of harddware to perform over its expected performancy... you can overclock your video card, RAM, and CPU.
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 08:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

1gb of ram would be the stupidest thing ever if you were to get all
of the other stuff.Personly I think your full of BS if youre really getting this. But anyways I think you should get 4 gigs of ram. You need to research alot more if youre really going to get a nice comp.Also you could get dual cpus of a lower grade which would be pretty awesome
and dont see any point of getting that processor.Also you could get a couple of fans or a dope water cooling system.I agree that there is no point for dual 7800gtx's, one is fine if u over clock it just a little . PLus a 7800 Gtx will play any game to date.Just research and dont rush into things.
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 09:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

4 gigs of ram?? wtf you smokin? lol, is there even a use for 4 gig's of ram??!
Static_11 is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 09:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fr34ky
1gb of ram would be the stupidest thing ever if you were to get all
of the other stuff.Personly I think your full of BS if youre really getting this. But anyways I think you should get 4 gigs of ram. You need to research alot more if youre really going to get a nice comp.Also you could get dual cpus of a lower grade which would be pretty awesome
and dont see any point of getting that processor.Also you could get a couple of fans or a dope water cooling system.I agree that there is no point for dual 7800gtx's, one is fine if u over clock it just a little . PLus a 7800 Gtx will play any game to date.Just research and dont rush into things.
wtf?! rofl , 4 gigs?! r u sure HEs the one thats full of BS, seriously dude, 4 gigs has almost no use especially in OCing

Good call
Spartan is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 09:21 PM   #16 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

he wants a awesome pc 2gigs is what will run top games at normal
4gigs will run awesome and trust me its alot differant, may not seem but it is.Plus 4gigs is cheap so you might as well upgrade to it not like a $900 GFX .
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 10:48 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fr34ky
he wants a awesome pc 2gigs is what will run top games at normal
4gigs will run awesome and trust me its alot differant, may not seem but it is.Plus 4gigs is cheap so you might as well upgrade to it not like a $900 GFX .
nothing requires 4 gigs of ram
he'll end up having problems
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 11:25 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

dude.. if i were to suggest anything over 2 gigs i would have said 2.5 gigs... not 4.. your insane.. lol, shows how much he can jack the price up on his computer eh?
Static_11 is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 03:21 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

4GB actually reduces your overclocks.
if you get multiple sticks, the memory controller is slowed down.
if you get higher capacity sticks, it means they pack more capacitors into them (it's tiny capacitors that store data in RAM), and more capacitors produce more heat, therefore don't overclock as much.

I would say at MOST 2GB ATM. 1GB will be fine for now, although 2GB is slowly starting to become more common (from virtually nobody I might add).

and yes, stick with 1 GTX.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 04:13 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

Windows need atleast 1gb to run smootly and then games ...SO 2GB will be fine
__________________

__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.