is this overkill... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2005, 11:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20
Default is this overkill...

I want to know if this is overkill on the gaming computer i mean i want the best but is this too much...AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Toledo 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Dual Core Processor Model ADA4800CDBOX - Retail $795

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16819103544

DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail $189

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16813136151


eVGA 256-P2-N525-AX Geforce 7800GTX 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail x 2 $918

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16814130248

OCZ Gold Series 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model OCZ4001024ELDCGE-K - Retail x2 $279

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16820227211

SONY 16X Dual Layer DVD+/-RW, Model DRU800A - Retail $61

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16822144394

Update OCZ OCZ600ADJSLI ATX12V 2.01, ATX, BTX, SATA, P4, and EPS12V 600W Power Supply - Retail $209

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...77
11001
__________________

computer-dumb is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 12:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

i wouodn't spend the money for 2 7800gt's...no use for two yet.
...as well....i'd just get the ultra-d. to me anyway, the small amount of stuff offered for the DR isn't worth the money
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 12:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

If you've got the money, that'll make a sweet system...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 12:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Trotter
If you've got the money, that'll make a sweet system... [/QUOTE

very true.]
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 12:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
Default

Its a wee bit overkill, you could drop one 7800GTX.
__________________
Intel Q6600 2.4Ghz SLACR
eVGA 8800GT 512mb Video Card
4GB DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Thermalright Ultra Extreme 120 with Scythe SFlex Fan
160GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
22" Viewsonic Widescreen Monitor
3DMark06 Score: 11402
Zanjo is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 01:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Drop the GTX cards and get one GT instead. Use the extra money to buy an extra gig of RAM. Your processor is a bit pricy too, so you could probably drop down to the next highest CPU (I think the 4600 or 4400 is one below the 4800). Don't forget to buy yourself a nice case and heatsink, so you can overclock.

Buy another GT a couple years down the line when they're cheaper, and then SLI it.
SILVERWOLF is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 02:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Yeah, no need for 2 7800GTXs in SLI. I do however say stay with one 7800GTX instead of dropping it to the GT. The GT has 4 less pipes which you may more may not be able to unlock. If you are going to spend that much on a graphics card, you want to get the real deal.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 06:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

none of the link work lol

so drop down the processor to a 4400+ toledo which is exactly the same only difference is the clockspeed

stick with the two 7800GTX sense your saving like 300 dollars or something like that

and get 2GB of some really really nice G.Skill
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 09:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

For me personally, I would have just one GTX, have 2gig of ram, and have a 4400 (not the 4600 as it has 512 cache instead of the 1mb.) and with the money left over, get some good cooling, and overclock it a bit. Just a 200mhz overclock, and it would be the same as the 4800.

Also, the SLI-D is almost the same as the DR, just minus 4 sata ports (the DR has 8) and the rest is minor changes.

There will be money left over still though. Put this in to a savings account, and when the next lot of graphics cards come out, get one of them.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 10-26-2005, 04:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

The 4400 has 2mb and the 4600 has 1mb L2 cache.

2 7800GTXs seems a bit much.
I would get 1 GTXand get 2GB of OCZ RAM.
__________________

__________________
Gigabyte EP-45 DS3R
e7200 @ 3.2
G.skill 4GB
Gigabyte 4850
Corsair VX 550
truebe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.