Overkill? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2005, 09:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 56
Question Overkill?

is this a good server computer or overkill? Give me suggestions on what i should change if there is a better choice

Thermaltake XASER III V2000A Silver Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail

2--Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD4000KD 400GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive - OEM

PHILIPS 107E51 Beige 17" CRT Monitor D-Sub - Retail

CHAINTECH SA5500T2 Geforce FX5500 256MB DDR AGP 4X/8X Video Card - Retail

SONY Black IDE CD-ROM Drive Model CDU5215 - OEM

SPARKLE FSP400-60GN(12V) ATX 400W Power Supply - OEM

ASPIRE KI-COMBO-BL Blue PS/2 Wired Standard Keyboard and Optical Scroll Mouse Combo Set Mouse Included - Retail

OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Platinum System Memory Model OCZ4002048ELDCPE-K - Retail

ASUS NCCH-DL Dual Socket 603/604 Intel 875P ATX Server Motherboard - Retail

2-Intel Xeon EM64T 3.0 Nocona 800MHz FSB Socket 604 Processor Model BX80546KG3000EA - Retail
__________________

bmamione is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 11:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

seem good for a server.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 11:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

The case is a bit much for a server. Unless your taking it to LAN parties it shouldnt have to be pretty, also what are you using it for? All the opticals, monitor, and massive HD space could be overkill. It depends pn what your using it for though.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 12:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

true if its a web server or a hoster that seems good if you are getting alot of clients and stuff.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 08:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

If this is a server computer, I would go with 2 of these hard drives instead:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822147007
Also, no need for a flashy case.
EDIT:
Also, get a well known PSU.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 04:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

sparkle? whose heard of sparkle. lol. get a better psu. enermax.antec,pcpowerandcooling.OCZ.anything other then sparkle. hA
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 04:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
sparkle? whose heard of sparkle. lol. get a better psu. enermax.antec,pcpowerandcooling.OCZ.anything other then sparkle. hA
Sparkle are pretty awsome, their not very common in the US though.

Sparkle are also EXTRMELY efficent PSU's, which make them ideal in this case. Sparkle and Forton use alot of the same PSU's as well. However some of the Sparkle PSU's with a more classic design are not good for servers



What will this server be in use for?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 04:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

oh really...thats pretty neat didnt know that.. but why do they have to name it sparkle? couldnt think of a better name.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 56
Default

yea i heard sparkle was one of the best thats y i wanted one of their PSU's. I also got the flashy tower because it has 7 fans and i gotta keep a server computer efficient
bmamione is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 08:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

yea better psu and u can get like cheaper ram since u prolly wont be overclocking.
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.