Overhaulin': MOBO/PSU/CPU/GPU/RAM (HEEELLPP!!!) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2007, 06:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Overhaulin': MOBO/PSU/CPU/GPU/RAM (HEEELLPP!!!)

ok if your going AMD, get the AMD Athlon X2 5000+ Brisbane Black Edition its like a 6400+ BE but it runs cooler and consumes less power
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 07:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Rakie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 228
Default Re: Overhaulin': MOBO/PSU/CPU/GPU/RAM (HEEELLPP!!!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
ok if your going AMD, get the AMD Athlon X2 5000+ Brisbane Black Edition its like a 6400+ BE but it runs cooler and consumes less power
is the 6400+ BE even CLOSE to as OC'able as the 5000+ ?
__________________

__________________
System sold.

<-- Mac user now.
Rakie is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 07:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Overhaulin': MOBO/PSU/CPU/GPU/RAM (HEEELLPP!!!)

yes... ^ it'll overclock the same.. by increasing hte 5000+ multiplier once... it'll be at 6400+ Speeds
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 07:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Rakie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 228
Default Re: Overhaulin': MOBO/PSU/CPU/GPU/RAM (HEEELLPP!!!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
yes... ^ it'll overclock the same.. by increasing hte 5000+ multiplier once... it'll be at 6400+ Speeds
Hrm.. So I guess that makes the 6400+ BE able to OC up to the q6600 level ?

That would be interesting.
__________________
System sold.

<-- Mac user now.
Rakie is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 07:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Overhaulin': MOBO/PSU/CPU/GPU/RAM (HEEELLPP!!!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
out in a fw months, as they will have the tlb bug fixed and smash the q6600. .
huh??
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 07:25 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Overhaulin': MOBO/PSU/CPU/GPU/RAM (HEEELLPP!!!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rakie View Post
Hrm.. So I guess that makes the 6400+ BE able to OC up to the q6600 level ?

That would be interesting.
I think you've misinterpreted my post completely... no AMD Dual-Core will ever perform with a q6600 with Natural cooling (you'd need like Water Cooling).. what I'm saying is that the 5000+ Black Edition can perform with the 6400+ Black Edition, without the hassle of Windsor Core (90nm die, runs hotter, consumes more power)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 07:27 PM   #17 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Overhaulin': MOBO/PSU/CPU/GPU/RAM (HEEELLPP!!!)

no....think you'd need phase
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 07:34 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Rakie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 228
Default Re: Overhaulin': MOBO/PSU/CPU/GPU/RAM (HEEELLPP!!!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
I think you've misinterpreted my post completely... no AMD Dual-Core will ever perform with a q6600 with Natural cooling (you'd need like Water Cooling).. what I'm saying is that the 5000+ Black Edition can perform with the 6400+ Black Edition, without the hassle of Windsor Core (90nm die, runs hotter, consumes more power)
ahh, ic. I asked if the 6400+ BE would OC as well as the 5000+ BE, and you said it would OC the same, but now I know what you meant.

I think both of us got a tad mixed up
__________________
System sold.

<-- Mac user now.
Rakie is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 07:45 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: Overhaulin': MOBO/PSU/CPU/GPU/RAM (HEEELLPP!!!)

Ok so the price difference isn't that much between th 6400+ and the 5000+, so I might as well go for the 6400+ between those two. I don't see a 6400+ Black Edition though??? Where you guys seeing this?
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 08:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Overhaulin': MOBO/PSU/CPU/GPU/RAM (HEEELLPP!!!)

2nd link u posted...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.