Overdue Upgrade....well kinda - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2006, 11:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 64
Question Overdue Upgrade....well kinda

How does this look like for an upgrade from my current system, and how much of an increase will I happen to see?

Motherboard: Gigabyte M55SLI-S4
Processor: AMD X2 4200+
Ram: 1GB Corsair 667 5300
Graphics Card: Leadtek or Gigabyte 256MB 7600GT

Also I want to savet he $70AU it is for installation and testing, and as i'll be retaining my optical drives, PSU, Floppy and Hard Drive, is the installing of the hardware easy enough to complete and then going through getting the computer to work? I should I safely opt for them doing the installing for me?

Also with the motherboard, I never really intend to go SLI, but I still think it is a good buy at $149AU, should I go for another mobo? Also I'm intending to keep the price under $800AU.
__________________

__________________
My Rig:
Gigabyte GA-8IPE1000 Pro2
Pentium 4 3.2GHz C
2 x Kingston 512MB PC3200
120GB 7200 Seagate 8MB
XFX 256MB 6800XTreme
Samsung CD-RW 52x52x24
LG 4167B DVD/RW BLACK
1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive
B319 ATX Case
500W Antec Smartpower 2.0
Masta_Gomes is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 02:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

so you are buying from a brick and mortar company. rust me it isnt hard to install the parts yourself. I had never worked on a computer before in my life and I researched for about an hour and a half one night and when I got the parts got it all together and working on the first try
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 05:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lancec2c30
so you are buying from a brick and mortar company. rust me it isnt hard to install the parts yourself. I had never worked on a computer before in my life and I researched for about an hour and a half one night and when I got the parts got it all together and working on the first try
yeah its pretty easy, you really do need minimal experience.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 09:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 64
Default

Well once all the parts are installed which seems relatively simple, besides the processsor and the thermal paste..........since it's the most delicate section of the comp, how do you work through the bios, do you have to format your drive? Or can you repair install windows? I don't want to lose all the updates etc...
__________________
My Rig:
Gigabyte GA-8IPE1000 Pro2
Pentium 4 3.2GHz C
2 x Kingston 512MB PC3200
120GB 7200 Seagate 8MB
XFX 256MB 6800XTreme
Samsung CD-RW 52x52x24
LG 4167B DVD/RW BLACK
1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive
B319 ATX Case
500W Antec Smartpower 2.0
Masta_Gomes is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 09:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

you do a repair install if you still have the original HD with data on it I think. BIOS is really easy. I got through it without any guidance I was like the basis for computers so it has to be simple.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 11:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 143
Default

Bios should pretty much be set up how you want it straight away anyway. Everything else that needs to be changed is pretty self explanitory really.

Don't stress!
Khann is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 11:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Thermal paste? I just used the stock heatsink and thermal paste that came with my processor, full load around 48 and cool around 35
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 11:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JoshSB
Thermal paste? I just used the stock heatsink and thermal paste that came with my processor, full load around 48 and cool around 35
yeah thats the way to go man.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 11:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Granted I do not overclock my stuff, I am going to wait until the warranty expires and I am about to upgrade before I go monkeying with that =)
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 11:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

yeah, but i did hear around that thermal paste dosnt even help..
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.