Is Overclocking RAM Worth Getting - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2005, 09:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

it doesnt slow down your computer why are you lying to them on spending more money on expensive ram :?
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 09:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

in three years, the effect of overclocking your ram would be almost nonexistant. It would make such a little difference. You wouldn't be able to notice at all... Not even in benchmarks. I overclocked my ram to DDR500 speeds and my 3dmark scores were like 30 points higher.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 09:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
in three years, the effect of overclocking your ram would be almost nonexistant. It would make such a little difference. You wouldn't be able to notice at all... Not even in benchmarks. I overclocked my ram to DDR500 speeds and my 3dmark scores were like 30 points higher.

Ryan
Its not because it makes your system faster, its because when you enable a divider, it slows down the computer.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 09:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

if you are overclocking, then yes get OCing RAM.

if your not overclocking, dont bother.

Thats the bottom line
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 01:28 AM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
Its not because it makes your system faster, its because when you enable a divider, it slows down the computer.
Dude, what're you tlaking about You should know better than this. Memory dividers IN NO WAY slow down your PC. I thought I explained this to everyone months ago...

Yea, overclocking RAM is worth getting, but if you can't afford it, then no biggie.
Flanker is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 06:38 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

see someone is on the same page with me, you go flanker
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 08:39 AM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
Its not because it makes your system faster, its because when you enable a divider, it slows down the computer.
What are you cracked out on? For one, dividers don't slow down anything. They just ENABLE the ram to run at a frequency different than that of the processor. And, I'd like to point out, that I said nothing about dividers. My main idea is that when you overclock three years down the road, it's going to be so marginally small in the grand scheme of things. It will be so insignificant, that you won't even be able to notice a performance gain. That doesn't justify the difference in price in ram for me. I'm all about cost/performance ratios.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 02:29 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kahlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 189
Default

Well thanks for the replys but you still really haven't answered my question!
Well i will have a AMD 64 3500+ Processor and an amazing motherboard but on the motherboards site it says it only supports up to PC3200 RAM does this mean that i can't put PC4400 RAM in?
I can't have anyother motherboard either because the motherboard is the only one that supports crossfire! So shall i wait for a better crossfire board to come out that supports up to PC4400 RAM or shall i just not bother getting the overclocking RAM?
If i don't get overclocking RAM will i be able to overclock the processor at all????
I will overclock computer and may improve cooling in the future to watercooling. I was wandering if it was worth paying an extra 70 for this improved overclocking potetional on the RAM. So will the gains from me getting this overclocking RAM be great or small????? I'm pritty sure that its the RAM which would probably limit my overclocking is this true? I don't really mind about the cost but i would like it as cheap as possible!!!!
kahlos is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 04:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

you'll be able to put any 184 pin memory in. Get yourself some DDR 500 ram, and then OC your HTT to 250. That'll be a mild overclock, and all of your components will be happy.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 05:20 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kahlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 189
Default

So what you're saying is that the extra performence from the OC RAM is worth while and it'll work on my motherboard. I will probs get this OC RAM if any because 1 computer shopper recommends it and 2 i've found it for cheap! Do you think this RAM is worth my money? But anyways cheers for the help
__________________

kahlos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.