Overclocking and ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2006, 11:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 21
Default Overclocking and ram

Is there a spesific type of ram that you need if you plan on overclocing your processor?
I have heard that DDR (500) is better than DDR (400) but the timings on the 400 are better.
What does overclocking get you from ram anyways? if the responce time (latiency) is the same how does it help?

cypherotu is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 12:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499

You can overclock your cpu without overclocking your ram but you have to use a divider. Depending on what ram you have will determine if you will have to use a divider or not.
Overclocking your ram just like overclocking anything else makes it faster.

What ram do you have?

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 12:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 21

I dont have any. building a system. looking at either
cypherotu is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 12:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738

Ok basically your CPU speed = FSB x CPU multiplier.
Your RAM runs at the speed of your FSB. So DDR 400 which runs at 200 mhz is what most people by because that is the speed of the current AMD CPU's FSB. Now an Opteron 165 for instance has a multiplier of 9 so 200mhz (fsb speed) x 9 (cpu multiplier) = 1800 mhz (cpu speed). Since multipliers are usually locked on most processors people must overclock by raising the FSB.

So if you went and bought DDR 500 which runs at 250 mhz you could raise your FSB speed to 250 mhz while having your memory run at the same speed, so this is what you could do. 250mhz (fsb speed) x 9( multiplier) = 2250 mhz.

You will also be able to raise your RAM speed but there will be a certain point where it becomes unstable. the DDR 500 RAM would be able to reach a higher speed which would enable you to get a better OC without using a memory divider. Memory dividers run your RAM at a fraction of the speed of your FSB which makes it slower.

So basically people buy faster RAM to OC.
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.