Overclocking My i7 / P6T / OCZ ddr3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2009, 02:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
aldernon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 76
Default Overclocking My i7 / P6T / OCZ ddr3

I have an i7 920, 6 gigs of ocz ddr3 1600, an asus P6T mobo and a great corsair psu (wont crap out on me)


Im using stock cooling right now, but im comfortable with a little warmth. I want a nice stable over clock of about 3.4+ I think my ram isnt running at 1600mhz stock, ive run cpu-z and it says its only running at 600mhz... Thats silly tbh.

Can anyone out there give me some solid settings i can punch in that will give me what i want?

Thanks
__________________

aldernon is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 03:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Overclocking My i7 / P6T / OCZ ddr3

Well, there arent really any solid settings, as all CPUs are different. Some will need more voltage than others, its just the way it goes. 3.4 might be a bit much for stock cooling. I have my i7 at 3.8Ghz and it still gets up to 78C in Intel Burn Test, and thats with a TRUE with 2 fans and very good case cooling.

This is reasonable guide to i7 OCing on the P6T:

Core i7 4Ghz Club & Overclocking Guide - PureOverclock Forums

Although i would NOT try for 4Ghz. i7s can overclock well, but they create alot of heat. Download Real Temp or Core Temp to monitor your temps and make sure the max doesnt go over about 85C. 100C is where damage can happen.

For voltages just remember you will want to increase the CPU voltage and the QPI voltage, i wouldnt suggest going over about 1.3 on stock cooling. Also increase the CPU PLL voltage a bit to help it. Turn off things you dont need also, and there are a few settings on the P6T that are supposed to help such as CPU Differential Amplitude.

The best thing is to gradually increase the clocks and voltage as you need it, then run Intel Burn Test, checking its stable and of course always checking your temps.
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 03:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Overclocking My i7 / P6T / OCZ ddr3

You can probably expect a safe 3.2 overclock with stock cooling. That will pretty much be the limit unless you want your cpu running at like 55c idle which is pretty high. I personally wouldn't want it going past 65-70c on load. I've heard of it staying stable up around 75c but I wouldn't want my cpu running that hot.

About your ram, it is not running at 600mhz. that is the base clock speed its running at then you have to multiply that by 3 i think it is for ddr3, or maybe its 2, i can never remember. Someone else will know. I can assure you its not running at 600mhz though.

Like meat_helmet said, there aren't any solid settings you can just punch in and its good to go. Start by upping the bclck in incriments of 5 and running intel burn test every time and see if its stable and at good temps. When it is no longer stable, bump up the voltage a notch and try again. Like said, I would not recommend going over 1.3v on stock. You shouldn't even need that much. I run mine @ 4.1 with a little over 1.3v so I would say you will most likely be fine with 1.25-6 vcore.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 03:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Overclocking My i7 / P6T / OCZ ddr3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinscher View Post
When it is no longer stable, bump up the voltage a notch and try again. Like said, I would not recommend going over 1.3v on stock. You shouldn't even need that much. I run mine @ 4.1 with a little over 1.3v so I would say you will most likely be fine with 1.25-6 vcore.
Hmmm, your lucky. I need 1.36 to run a stable 3.8Ghz... Might try and swap one for the new D0 stepping ones when they come out.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 03:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Overclocking My i7 / P6T / OCZ ddr3

I saw a test of 15 different d0 stepping 920's. 4ghz half at 1.2 highest required was 1.28. Average 1.22.
My new i7 920 D0 Stepping - XtremeSystems Forums
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Overclocking Thread. Ste Overclocking and Modding 429 02-24-2010 05:03 PM
Overclocking an Nvidia 8600GT GPU - Clock settings jmoussa87 Overclocking and Modding 14 08-17-2008 03:06 PM
Intel Nehalem to allow overclocking, some processors will even encourage it maroon1 New Technology and Products 10 06-15-2008 06:15 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.