Overclocking geforce 8 series? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2007, 09:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: American in Hong Kong
Posts: 383
Default Re: Overclocking geforce 8 series?

I don't have my card OC'd at all times. I leave it at default settings until I'm about to go into a game and then have it running like that. When I'm done gaming I go back to default. It's really not a big deal. Unless you have a really hot room then I doubt you'll reach the max temp.
__________________

__________________

3dMark06 = 13,687
Futuremark - ORB - Project Comparison
Antec 900 (Modded)
Q6600 G0 @ 3.3GHz (8multi x 413FSB; 1.3375v)
Asus P5K Deluxe
Tuniq Tower 120 (Lapped)
XFX 8800GTS @ 703/1,008 (ATItool)
2G Corsair XMS2 DDR2-826 2T 4-4-4-12
Seagate 7200.10 320G
LiteOn 20x DL DVD-Rw
Acbel 607W
Windows XP Pro 32bit
Pdawg is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 02:53 AM   #12 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Overclocking geforce 8 series?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
If you're satisfied with the performance at 2.4GHz, there isn't a need to push it further.
but then again, why did I get at tuniq tower 120 :P

anyways doesn't it reduce the life of the card by pushing it to its limits and having it crash? I just feel guilty and think Im too delicate with all my computer stuff...I mean who wouldn't with a $2000 dollar system ( with tax ) :P
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 09:30 AM   #13 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Overclocking geforce 8 series?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
but then again, why did I get at tuniq tower 120 :P

anyways doesn't it reduce the life of the card by pushing it to its limits and having it crash? I just feel guilty and think Im too delicate with all my computer stuff...I mean who wouldn't with a $2000 dollar system ( with tax ) :P
heh...You might as well overclock, because you have overclocking componenets, such as the DS3R and HZs. Overclocking is really nothing to be afraid of. If you're doing it right, the worst that can happen, is a simple reset or frozen screen.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 09:42 AM   #14 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Overclocking geforce 8 series?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
but then again, why did I get at tuniq tower 120 :P

anyways doesn't it reduce the life of the card by pushing it to its limits and having it crash? I just feel guilty and think Im too delicate with all my computer stuff...I mean who wouldn't with a $2000 dollar system ( with tax ) :P
you only really reduce the lifespan when you overvolt or raise the voltage from stock, otherwise its still using the same power requirements and such to just push out better performance

even when you reduce the life cycle, it'll still be a good 3-5 years since most things can last 5-10 years and thats only in extreme cases

why don't you just overclock? theres nothing to be scared of... geeze

all you have to do is adjust the sliders in ATITool and test to see how hot it gets... then raise it again until it crashes like Bigapl said

a lot of people also overclock just for the fun of it, ever heard of benchmarking? lots of users on here only have high performance systems to benchmark...

and also, the reason you bought a q6600 is because in the future, you can overclock it to keep up with games your pc can't handle on the stock 2.4 ghz, or if you wan't to speed up encoding, general tasks etc.
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 12:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Overclocking geforce 8 series?

Quads run at 4:5 with memory at stock settings. If you are running a g0 quad and ds3r try setting your memory multi to 2.0 and set your FSB to 400 with 1.35V on the CPU then keep an eye on your temps.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 01:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Overclocking geforce 8 series?

Also I see that your GTX is EVGA and if you manage to actually permanently damage your GTX (I have no idea how you would though), EVGA will give you a new one. Its an enthusiast card and they cover overclocking in their warranty. That might make you feel a little better about overclocking it.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 01:45 PM   #17 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Overclocking geforce 8 series?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferarri View Post
Also I see that your GTX is EVGA and if you manage to actually permanently damage your GTX (I have no idea how you would though), EVGA will give you a new one. Its an enthusiast card and they cover overclocking in their warranty. That might make you feel a little better about overclocking it.
are you sure about that? no company in their right mind would cover overclocking damage..., would they?
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 02:12 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default Re: Overclocking geforce 8 series?

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
are you sure about that? no company in their right mind would cover overclocking damage..., would they?
Yes is true what ferarri is saying their lifetime warranty also covers overclocking what doesn't cover is physical damage.
__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
MSI Z77A-G45
16GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair HX650w
eVGA 670 GTX 2GB
Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
ASUS VG248QE Black 24" 144Hz, Samsung 24" S24B300, Samsung 22" 226BW & HP L1908W 19" (Quad Monitor Setup)
COOLER MASTER HAF 912
Phanto is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 10:06 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Overclocking geforce 8 series?

I had a customer service rep tell me this personally. Both my 680i mobo and my GTX are covered from OC'ing damage as long as it is returned in the same physical state as I received it in. They dont care if you put an aftermarket cooler on either as long as when you send it back, it has the stock cooler on it. Its all just one more reason why I love EVGA
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 10:37 PM   #20 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Overclocking geforce 8 series?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Quads run at 4:5 with memory at stock settings. If you are running a g0 quad and ds3r try setting your memory multi to 2.0 and set your FSB to 400 with 1.35V on the CPU then keep an eye on your temps.
I just dont like doing stuff unless I know everything about it ( can never find a good resource for overclocking with my mobo ). Is it possible to overclock to 2.7 ghz without changing the voltage or anything?
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking XFX GeForce 7600GS 256MB PCIe Comdot Overclocking and Modding 27 05-07-2008 06:49 PM
Nvidia GeForce 9800 series specs released b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 109 11-24-2007 06:43 AM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
NVIDIA PureVideo HD questions macdawg New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-28-2007 10:16 AM
Latest nvidia drivers for Geforce 8 series? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-22-2007 05:31 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.