Overclocking geforce 8 series? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2007, 08:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Overclocking geforce 8 series?

So yeah soon I may think of overclocking my system ( SupCom really is the only game that pushes it to its limits ). Im not too familar about overclocking the q6600 correctly but also am wondering about how to overclock the video card.

I heard from Riznarf that a good way is to use ATI tool and set it to detect the max overclocking and then set it a little below that. Does anyone use or recommend this method? Sounds kinda unsafe...
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 09:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Overclocking geforce 8 series?

I'd recommend overclocking your GPU, by either ATI Tool or Rivatuner. I'm guessing ATI Tool, is more commonly used. It's safe, don't worry about it.

What Riznarf mentioned, is first finding the max core. After it reaches it's max, the system or program will freeze, and probably restart. You just have to remember, what it was at, before it started freezing. Then just back it down 10-15MHz, to be safe. And then run the Artifact Scanner for any artifacts.

Then do the same for finding the max memory.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 09:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Overclocking geforce 8 series?

I prefer Riaiviatuner but they are both good. Also yes it's safe as long as you monitor the temps.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 10:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Overclocking geforce 8 series?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
I'd recommend overclocking your GPU, by either ATI Tool or Rivatuner. I'm guessing ATI Tool, is more commonly used. It's safe, don't worry about it.

What Riznarf mentioned, is first finding the max core. After it reaches it's max, the system or program will freeze, and probably restart. You just have to remember, what it was at, before it started freezing. Then just back it down 10-15MHz, to be safe. And then run the Artifact Scanner for any artifacts.

Then do the same for finding the max memory.
hmmm but what causes the artifacts to happen exactly? is it cause the card is running too hot? I thought artifacts mean permeanent damage for video cards
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 11:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Overclocking geforce 8 series?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
hmmm but what causes the artifacts to happen exactly? is it cause the card is running too hot? I thought artifacts mean permeanent damage for video cards
it means that the card is clocked too hard and too keep up with the amount of mhz per seconds you are asking it to perform at, it misses filling in some of the pixels.

Artificating isn't really dangerous at all.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 11:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Overclocking geforce 8 series?

As long as it's not showing up in your games.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 05:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Overclocking geforce 8 series?

I dunno Im sitll very reluctant to overclock....I gotta learn all the Ram:CPU ratios..I think the default right now is 2:3 that my mobo sets it at....I dunno...maybe ill overclock when its more necessary...no point in pushing it from 2.4 ghz to 3 ghz if theres no real need for the performance increase right?
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 05:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Overclocking geforce 8 series?

If you're satisfied with the performance at 2.4GHz, there isn't a need to push it further.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 08:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default Re: Overclocking geforce 8 series?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
So yeah soon I may think of overclocking my system ( SupCom really is the only game that pushes it to its limits ). Im not too familar about overclocking the q6600 correctly but also am wondering about how to overclock the video card.

I heard from Riznarf that a good way is to use ATI tool and set it to detect the max overclocking and then set it a little below that. Does anyone use or recommend this method? Sounds kinda unsafe...
I too once was started to get tempted to overclock my video card but what the heck I said, is the second high end after the Ultra and runs the games pretty dam good. Anyway I will overclock my video card eventually but there is no hurry really and besides here where I live the air conditioner is not 24/7 like most people in the US so my PC have to fight with ambient temps and thus is not very situable to overclocking it to the extreme ( not that I'm a Pro at overclocking, but you guys know what I mean).

Here is a guide that I found sometime ago maybe it can help you out: How To Overclock the NVIDIA GeForce 8800 Series
__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus
MSI Z77A-G45
16GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600MHz
Corsair HX650w
eVGA 670 GTX 2GB
Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256GB
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
ASUS VG248QE Black 24" 144Hz, Samsung 24" S24B300, Samsung 22" 226BW & HP L1908W 19" (Quad Monitor Setup)
COOLER MASTER HAF 912
Phanto is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 08:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Overclocking geforce 8 series?

it wont hurt to grab Riva Tuner, and bump it up a bit. its not rocket science
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking XFX GeForce 7600GS 256MB PCIe Comdot Overclocking and Modding 27 05-07-2008 06:49 PM
Nvidia GeForce 9800 series specs released b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 109 11-24-2007 06:43 AM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
NVIDIA PureVideo HD questions macdawg New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-28-2007 10:16 AM
Latest nvidia drivers for Geforce 8 series? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-22-2007 05:31 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.