Overclocking an entire network server rack. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2009, 10:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Default Overclocking an entire network server rack.

Hey there I'm Devin Mei from Silicon Valley and boy do I have a question for you tech guys out there. Does anyone have any suggestions for extreme cooling procedures for a server room where every server in our network will have to be overclocked for at least 3 days.
__________________

Devin_Mei_Tech_Wiz is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 11:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: Overclocking an entire network server rack.

I'm not quite sure, but I don't know anything about servers and networks.

May I ask why you're overclocking them? Or what the advantage is from overclocking servers? Unless its just like normal OC'ing, faster, better performance.
__________________

dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 08-16-2009, 11:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 283
Default Re: Overclocking an entire network server rack.

How many servers, and how big is the room?

The server room I once worked for had a refrigerator unit. When that refrigerator broke down, they propped open a door, turned on the fan, and somebody had to babysit the servers all night long.
darsunt is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 04:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Overclocking an entire network server rack.

Well a good start would be to partition the room so that the front intake is physically separated from the exhaust. Then air-con or some other type of refrigeration can be kept blowing cool air into the rack intakes, while the hot exhuast is seperated and extracted though fans to the exterior (if possible).

Its fairly extreme, simply because there is a fair amount of physical work involved.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
Terminal License Server - Expired !! roumieh2000 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-04-2008 01:46 AM
HiJack This Log review opageorges HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 05-13-2008 07:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.