Overclockers!! Grrrr!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2006, 08:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Default Overclockers!! Grrrr!!

I brought some of my parts for my computer recently from overclockers.

One part was my evga 7900gt ko graphics card, it got deleivered to me at work and then i took it home to start building. When i opened the box i found a capaictor had snapped off and was floating around inside the packaging!!

I rang overclockers and they advised me it was nothing to do with them and i was to ring evga direct, in america on a international number!!! Couldn't get hold of evga so decided to ring back overclockers and explain that im pretty pi@$£d off and that if i drove up to them would they replace it. They said they can't promise but they'll try if i went up.

I drove to their site and luckily without any fuss got a replacement. I got back in my car and checked the gfx card before i drove away, the card was fine but there was a dvi/vga converter missing, i presumed evga hadn't put the extra one in and was happy with that as I only wanted one and was fed up by this point.

Once I got home and started to build my pc i noticed that the end of the box that i hadn't opened had already been opened and the sticker put back over, the stickers were missing from the manual, theprotective film had been took off the gfx card and then i found the ripped bag that the connector had been in!!

Now i don't know if its anything to do with the gfx card but it takes a couple attempts to turn my new computer on now and to get any visual output, though the fan on the graphics card is on and on the processor, etc.

Has anybody else had any problems with overclockers and does anyone have any idea what the problem might be with my new computer.

Cheers in advance!
Matt Saunders
__________________

__________________
Matt Saunders
BLOODY_BRUM_BAS is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 08:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

whenever you ask a question like this it is easier for people to help if you list your pc specs as they may no of specific issues pertaining to your hardware.

i'm interested in your motherboard please.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 08:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Iv had no problems with overclockers although many have, there was even a site dedicated to mocking their employee's. I would RMA the card call them up get an RMA number and send it back and get a replacement.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 08:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Default

sorry for not putting my other specs, i was all typed out!!!

Asus P5B Deluxe (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard
Intel Dual Core E6400
2G Corrsair Ram XMS2
26" Samsung HD TV
500w PSU

Everything works fine once its actually working fast with no image problems. Though last nite i did restart the computer and as it was loading windows (the black screen with the bar moving) my screen went all funny (a bit like when you don't have a tv signal) but more electrical looking, if that makes sense.

I had to reset the pc and then it was ok!
__________________
Matt Saunders
BLOODY_BRUM_BAS is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 11:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Overclockers have in my experience been the most helpful company for returns.

Most recently they swapped a PSU round for a better one, when the PSU came with a case (didn't haev to post that! ).

I chose not to go eVGA (despite the hype) for BFG, as I know they have a UK number and support will be good. Leadtek second.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 12:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

so a capacitor snapped off then..
can you see where it snapped off? you can just solder it back on
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 12:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
so a capacitor snapped off then..
can you see where it snapped off? you can just solder it back on
He got a replacement for that one when he drove up to see them.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 12:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

ah, I see.. I didn't read the entire thing (speed reading taught me to read the first and last paragraphs to get the main idea)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 03:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BLOODY_BRUM_BAS
sorry for not putting my other specs, i was all typed out!!!

Asus P5B Deluxe (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard
Intel Dual Core E6400
2G Corrsair Ram XMS2
26" Samsung HD TV
500w PSU

Everything works fine once its actually working fast with no image problems. Though last nite i did restart the computer and as it was loading windows (the black screen with the bar moving) my screen went all funny (a bit like when you don't have a tv signal) but more electrical looking, if that makes sense.

I had to reset the pc and then it was ok!
i had the same problem when i first installed my x1900xt.. it gave me weird colors and such (as a tv would) right after the windows bootup screen... did it for about a week and then stopped?
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-27-2006, 09:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

Well I would be pretty pi$$ed of as well. If i were you demand your money back and go buy a Quality brandname such as Gigabyte, Msi ect

That really sux what happend
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.