Overclock related question...stupid HP! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2007, 03:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 126
Default Overclock related question...stupid HP!

Hello there forum users, i bought an HP Media Center a while back, and i've recently decided to try to overclock it. Trouble is, the bus speeds/multipliers etc. are greyed out in the BIOS.
Now i don't know a whole lot about computers / overclocking and such, but i heard somewhere that HP locks their bus speeds and doesn't allow overclocking. Is this true? And if so, is there any way of bypassing that? I tried a program called 'softfsb', and it really didn't do jack for me.

EDIT: If there is no way around it, could i just slap a cheap new mobo in my rig and be fine for overclocking?
__________________

__________________
Forever stuck in the learning process

Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2GHZ
4GB OCZ Platinum
Nvidia 8800gt 718/1061
Nvidia 6200LE
Maxtor 250 GB Sata
Windows XP Pro 32 Bit
650W Coolermaster
Monitor one: Acer 22" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor two: Xplio 17" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor three: Samsung 50" HDTV
Aesrin is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 03:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 126
Default Re: Overclock related question...stupid HP!

bump for great justice
__________________

__________________
Forever stuck in the learning process

Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2GHZ
4GB OCZ Platinum
Nvidia 8800gt 718/1061
Nvidia 6200LE
Maxtor 250 GB Sata
Windows XP Pro 32 Bit
650W Coolermaster
Monitor one: Acer 22" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor two: Xplio 17" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor three: Samsung 50" HDTV
Aesrin is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 03:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: Overclock related question...stupid HP!

you can use software overclocking if you can't via your mobo

and also, generally cheap mobos have bad overclocking abilities, either capped HTT/FSB or just don't work well, there are reasons that high end mobos exist, different chipsets and revisions overclock better etc.

and troof, most manufacturer pc's can't be overclocked with the stock mobo

try pressing ctrl+f1 (no +) when you get to the bios, that turns on advanced featuers and may work for you
__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 05:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 126
Default Re: Overclock related question...stupid HP!

Thanks a bundle! I'll be back with the results


EDIT* Well crtl f1 didn't seem to have any effect in the BIOS, but i'll live with my computer as it is.
__________________
Forever stuck in the learning process

Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2GHZ
4GB OCZ Platinum
Nvidia 8800gt 718/1061
Nvidia 6200LE
Maxtor 250 GB Sata
Windows XP Pro 32 Bit
650W Coolermaster
Monitor one: Acer 22" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor two: Xplio 17" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor three: Samsung 50" HDTV
Aesrin is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 05:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Overclock related question...stupid HP!

you can't overclock HP systems...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
could be a really stupid question.... slyfxsi System Upgrades 7 09-15-2007 10:29 AM
Question about my Overclock Poemaster Overclocking and Modding 10 09-12-2007 12:41 AM
Stupid American Question.. alexsabree New Systems | Building and Buying 14 08-26-2007 05:23 AM
maybe a stupid question about magnets hdansjr Off Topic Discussion 10 04-27-2007 10:39 AM
question related to RAM and CPU OCing. krazieaznboi Overclocking and Modding 7 04-11-2007 02:56 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.