Over clocking a X2 4400+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2006, 01:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to Darkestfuryan
Default Over clocking a X2 4400+

Does anyone know the highest speed that you can overclock this proc. to thats stable? looking into gett this one and i wanna OC. so if you do it would be really helpfull! K thanx

Darkestfuryan is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 01:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Disillusion's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810

It's hard telling. There are many factors involved. What kind of cooling are you going to use?

All CPUs overclock differently. One might do 3 GHz, the other might not get 200 MHz over stock.

CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 01:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to Darkestfuryan

iw as going to go for something Zalman, i hear they make great heatsinks for overclockers
Darkestfuryan is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 11:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 114

Well, if u have decent cooling system when u might be able to OC that to 3.0 MHz. But if not then i would recommend to 2.8 or 2.6. That's approximately the same as the FX60 or 4800+ already.
DFI Lan party UT NF4 Ultra
AMD Opteron 146 2.0 Mhz @ 2.8 GHz
OCZ Gold Edition 2x512 MB DDR 500 timing 2.5-3-3-8 @ DDR 560
XFX GeForce 7600 GT 256 Mb GDDR3
Antec Lanboy Mini Tower Case
Antec True Control 550W ATX2.0 PSU
Maxtor 300 GB 7200 RMP SATA 16Mb Cache
17\'\' TFT Screen 12 ms
MysticRose is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 11:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339

the 4800+ is 2.4 stock actually

You can get up to 2.6 with little to no heat increase and that is where I stay but I'm sure if your not worried about the heat you could push it much further.
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 11:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to Darkestfuryan

do you think i could push the 4400 to 3.0ghz and have it be stable?

Darkestfuryan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.