Over 4 gigs in 32bit OS. - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2008, 05:18 PM   #31 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Over 4 gigs in 32bit OS.

i think that if the game supports it and crossfire is working properly and rendering in tile mode then there is actually 1gb texture memory available. I could be wrong though but that's how I understand it.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-16-2008, 09:32 PM   #32 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Over 4 gigs in 32bit OS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
i think that if the game supports it and crossfire is working properly and rendering in tile mode then there is actually 1gb texture memory available. I could be wrong though but that's how I understand it.
no, even tile mode doesn't split the textures.
They're both running the same game (together), and both have to be ready to render any part of the game at any particular time. Which means having all of the textures that the game specifies for the particular map/level/whatever
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-17-2008, 04:27 PM   #33 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Over 4 gigs in 32bit OS.

hmm ok that makes sense....but then what allows you to use cards with different amounts of texture memory?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-03-2008, 11:15 PM   #34 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: Over 4 gigs in 32bit OS.

I'm guessing that it scales to the lower card with lower amount of memory or the gpu with less amount of ram will have to borrow some ram from the system and suffer a major performance decrease.

I doubt cross-firing different chips works to well, but idk for sure.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 06-04-2008, 02:29 AM   #35 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Over 4 gigs in 32bit OS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
hmm ok that makes sense....but then what allows you to use cards with different amounts of texture memory?
each GPU/card renders its part (or parts) of the screen independently; then one of the cards joins each cards part (or parts) together

Even if they have different amounts of texture memory, each card would render their parts the same way as they would without crossfire; If a card doesn't have enough local memory to store all its textures, it would have to acccess textures from main system memory.

If one card has less texture memory, and it has to use main system memory, it's probably going to run slower than the one with a higher amount of texture memory, and therefore it will slow down the other card, if it has to wait longer for all the rendered data.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Vista Reading four gigs of ram nVdia Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-28-2007 09:12 PM
8 gigs of memory? ZeroShade New Systems | Building and Buying 18 11-15-2007 05:56 AM
Vista Ultimate 32bit or 64 bit krazyq New Systems | Building and Buying 13 10-30-2007 08:35 PM
Vista Home Premium 32bit or 64bit cub1971 Microsoft Windows and Software 10 04-20-2007 08:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.