Out of the loop.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2008, 05:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Out of the loop....

Over the past 3-5 months I have had a lot on my plate. I recently moved to a new state, and got a new job, etc. I haven't had the time to stay up to date on technology . I am currently running this pc:
SpecBox | Profile

I am basically wondering if there is anything you guys would upgrade to increase my performance in online gaming (FPS games.)

I am thinking of upgrading to a new graphics card, but I honestly have no clue what the best "bang for your buck" video card is right now. I personally prefer to buy EVGA.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Budget = $400.00USD or less.

Thanks guys!
__________________

Mordred is offline  
Old 09-08-2008, 10:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: Out of the loop....

If it were me, I would buy another 8800, go sli, and put an aftermarket cpu cooler, and overclock the 6600, I think the one you have has g0 stepping so it should overclock nicely.
__________________

__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 09-08-2008, 03:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mordred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 214
Send a message via AIM to Mordred
Default Re: Out of the loop....

I aready have a Tuniq Tower cooling the Q6600, and yes, it does have G0 stepping. I just can't seem to get a stable overclock, but then I have never overclocked anything before.

Going SLI hadn't really occurred to me, but that might be a good idea.
Mordred is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WC Loop. Some questions, and an *** kicking needed by aspire. Peter.Cort New Systems | Building and Buying 6 07-14-2008 12:50 PM
Dilemma... Crazy WC Loop or Chiller!? commandercup Overclocking and Modding 14 03-27-2008 07:29 PM
windows loop pspec Microsoft Windows and Software 5 03-23-2008 03:16 PM
Stuck in a Loop while installing XP lavenderAC Microsoft Windows and Software 1 02-10-2008 11:00 PM
Great price on a mid range water cooling loop. aspire Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 12-01-2007 09:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.