OS and Memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2008, 03:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 38
Default OS and Memory

hey guys,

Do I really need Window Vista 64 for online gaming?

Is there any website that tested both vista 32 and vista 64 for gaming?

If so please provide a link

I want to see first hand the difference, so I can decide if I really need this 4GB RAM to use vista 64 with gaming or if this is just another marketing BS
__________________

JarokFL is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 04:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: OS and Memory

I game w/ 4 gb on x64 and it has been the same as 32 bit. 2gb is plenty. I use 4gb because of other programs that I use.
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 05:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 38
Default Re: OS and Memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
I game w/ 4 gb on x64 and it has been the same as 32 bit. 2gb is plenty. I use 4gb because of other programs that I use.
Thanks!

Somehow I knew all this was a just a bunch of BS.
The more I read about this, the more obvious it seems that for mainstream apps and games, 2GB is plently

Maybe in a 2-3 years all this will change but for now I'm gonna stick to 2GB and vista x32.

Something is funny though, Vista x64 is basically the same price as Vista x32, so even if I only use 2GB should I grab Vista 64 anyway?
JarokFL is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 09:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 17
Default Re: OS and Memory

Vista 64 home premium will allow you to upgrade later to 16gb of memory from what I understand. You'll pretty much be at your cap already if you go 32bit.

Just have to check that there are 64 bit drivers for everything you're going to get.

I'd say either stick with XP for free, or go Vista 64. Vista 32 seems like a waste of money for your sitaution. I'm still doing research but at this time I figure I'm going Vista 64.
Kickin11 is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 01:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 38
Default Re: OS and Memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kickin11 View Post
Vista 64 home premium will allow you to upgrade later to 16gb of memory from what I understand. You'll pretty much be at your cap already if you go 32bit.

Just have to check that there are 64 bit drivers for everything you're going to get.

I'd say either stick with XP for free, or go Vista 64. Vista 32 seems like a waste of money for your sitaution. I'm still doing research but at this time I figure I'm going Vista 64.
It's gonna be for a new PC so I'm gonna need a whole new OS, installing XP or Vista at this moment is about the same price on a new PC, so why not go go for Vista?


*edit*
Any one else wanna comment on the utility of vista 64 for online gaming?

It does change alot of parameters staying vista 32/2GB or going Vista 64/4GB, so I'd apreciate as much feedback as possible about this OS/RAM siuation

JarokFL is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 04:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: OS and Memory

64bit is fine, there are some people who say that driver support(also Software support) is crap, but I see none of these faults
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 06:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: OS and Memory

You know I couldn't find support for xp x64 but for vista x64 I haven't had any problems. I would get vista x64. I'd rather stick w/ xp but having 4gb I had to go 64 and like I stated xp 64 just doesn't have the support I need. What sound card will you be using w/ vista? Theres modified drivers out there that are great. These are for audigy series though.

Creative audigy vista/xp support pack drivers
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 11:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 38
Default Re: OS and Memory

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
What sound card will you be using w/ vista?
None

I'll just go with the onboard audio chipset of the MSI P6N SLI Platinum, it's some crap realtek but it's fine for what I need.

Well I guess I'm gonna go with the flow and get 4GB/vista 64 then
__________________

JarokFL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.