OS installation for my new build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2007, 11:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 11
Default OS installation for my new build

As the title would suggest, this is my first time building. I am more than confident in putting together my pc, but once its time to install the operating system (Vista64 if it matters) and beyond im a bit nervous. If anyone could give me a helpful link or description on how to install vista on my new computer and maybe some changes to make once its installed, i would really appreciate. i havent received my parts yet, just trying to prepare. thankyou.
__________________

Jakigi is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 11:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: OS installation for my new build

put the cd in follow the onscreen steps . using an old computer you may find it helpful to burn a disk with your favourite programs and a anti virus and firewall so that you don't access the internet unprotected for the first time you log on to your comp
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 11:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: OS installation for my new build

go get windows xp 32 bit edition, trust me, the saved tears are worth it
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 11:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: OS installation for my new build

no now you might aswell go vista the sp1 is coming out late summer
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 11:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: OS installation for my new build

late summer is in three months...
also sp1 might be manure too....
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 03:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 101
Default Re: OS installation for my new build

yea and the 64 bit ver has even more sketchy drivers for it, 32 bit is ok..but i see u have the 8800 and the drivers for vista are still kinda funky so yea go for it but trust me even if SP1 is comin out late summer its still not going to have proper drivers for it i believe espcially for 64 bit
__________________
-E6300 Intel Core Duo 1.86GHz
-ASUS P5NSLI Motherboard
-OCZ PC6400 800MHz 4x1GB Platinum series
-XFX 8800GTX
-OCZ Gamer Xtream 700W PSU
-2x160GB WD HD in RAID 0
-Antec Nine Hundred case
icantflybfplane is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 08:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: OS installation for my new build

Id go for xp for now, at least then you will know 100% everything will work with no problems.
Then whenever vista is better and worth getting it will be cheaper, even now i could get vista home edition (OEM)for about £70 or less.
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 10:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ...
Posts: 474
Default Re: OS installation for my new build

istalling vista is like installing any other os, make sure that ure boot priority is from ure cd though, you can change it by going into the bios and looks for boot priority settings
khan008 is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 02:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: OS installation for my new build

ya plus if i need to do RAID, i no longer need a floppy drive woot woot, i can use my jump drive, but too bad this crappy VIA can't do that argh!!!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 02:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
jungleland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 91
Default Re: OS installation for my new build

Vista 64 bit is worthless, and very limited support too..

Go with 32bit and once you have all of your hardware hooked up properly, boot up and pop in the vista DVD and go from there, piece of cake...
__________________

__________________
Asus P5n32-E SLI
Nvidia 680i SLI Chipset
Intel Pentium D 830 3Ghz OC'ed to 3.825Ghz
Zalman cs9500 Cooler
2GB PC6400 OCZ XTC Platinum
2x WD 250GB SATA (7200rpm, 16mb) RAID 0
1x Maxtor 250GB IDE
BFG NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS OC 256MB PCIe
Lite On DVD-RW SOHW-1693s
Dell 2407WFP (REV A04)
Dell 1800fp (second display)
600W Enermax Noisetaker II EG701AX-VE(W) (Revision 2.2)
3dMark06 Score: 5433 when OC'ed and 5140 stock
1x 120mm ultra quiet vantec case fan
1x 80m ultra queit case fan
jungleland is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need monster build JRatcliffe New Systems | Building and Buying 60 06-12-2007 06:38 AM
Software installation problem..... -RockMan- Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-30-2007 04:10 AM
Should I add a raptor to my build? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 05-26-2007 01:52 PM
Intel or Amd for new gaming build? Mandingo New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-26-2007 09:42 AM
A Brand New Build! Need Help Please! khan008 New Systems | Building and Buying 42 05-23-2007 11:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.