Which OS can i use? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2006, 12:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default Which OS can i use?

I am building a PC for the first time and i am wondering if there is any way i could load the OS used on Macs onto my homebuilt PC and if there would be any problems with it? I know all the people I have talked to who have built PCs have used Windows OS but i really like the ones used on Macs. If i were to use this OS, would i have to buy Mac specific programs as well?
__________________

__________________
My rig (getting old):

Rosewill black case with 400W PSU (420W Thermaltake on the way)
MSI Nforce4-ultra Neo4 platnium
evga Nvidia 6600gt pci-e
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ winchester
Corsair ValueSelect 1 GB (2x512) RAM
Western Digital 80 GB SATA HDD (200 GB IDE coming soon)
AOpen combo drive
17\" LCD LG Monitor
Cheap Keys, Dell Mouse, no speakers

Gig \'em and God bless
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 01:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

You can't load OS X onto a standard PC, it just wont work. You can use Windows XP, or if you are feeling adventurous you could try Linux.
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 01:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Greg
You can't load OS X onto a standard PC, it just wont work. You can use Windows XP, or if you are feeling adventurous you could try Linux.
yep.
Maybe there's an XP or Linux Mac OSX skin, though. I'm sure there must be one, you could use that.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 01:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

I dont know. If you want to build a computer tuff luck go with windows. If yyou want a mac OS I think you are just gonna have to buy one already built from them.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 02:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jorsoft03
Maybe there's an XP or Linux Mac OSX skin, though. I'm sure there must be one, you could use that.
I've seen quite a few for Linux, and some of them look pretty good. You can find whole theme packs that include the wallpaper, borders, icons, etc.
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 05:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 218
Default

OSx86 anyone?
Shando is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 06:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

it would only work with an emulator to emulate the bios and stuff. for what ive heard about this, you cant do it(but if you could, it would be reallllllllllllllllly slow, plus its banned in these fourms)

so, to keep it simple, use xp (or 2000 if you want preformance)
or vista if you want looks, or xp for right inbetween
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 06:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 602
Default

the closest thing ive heard of cross operating systems stuff is ive seen a mac run windows xp but not mac on an pc lol
keyser09 is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 09:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

i saw a video of some guy put mac osx onto a everday laptop using linux doing some crazy stuff. so it is possible, just not very easy at all. he also just showed doing, not actually what he did.
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 11-09-2006, 09:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

Have a link??
__________________

Spartan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.