Ordering this weekend, just want an opinion - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2006, 01:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Well I think I'm going to go with everything in my original post, except for I'm going to change the motherboard to this one; http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131070

Anyone have any last minute opinions or facts on it before I order in the next hour or so?
__________________

__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 01:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

for ram, corsair seems to be the winner... its had zero problems with pretty much every motherboard... and since your not a big overclocker.. i would even drop to ddr 667.. because getting the ram to even run ddr800 is hard.. and requires big voltage (at least on my e6600)...... at 667 with an e6600 thats 3.0 ghz.. and i'm sure that would keep anyone happy.. because that is my daily use clock right there.
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 02:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Which 667 RAM do you suggest, I just cancelled my order with the 800 so I will be able to change that now.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 02:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Custra...82E16820231049

How about that RAM? I couldn't find any DDR2 667 Corsair.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 02:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

hrm, your right, i guess they sold out of it.. anyway, ya, g.skill is a very reliable company as well, thats excellent ram for a nice price and should do you more than fine if your not a huge oc'er
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 02:32 PM   #16 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231099

Well then what about getting this? It's only a bit more money and it's DDR2800.

EDIT:

Or what about this one;

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231085

or

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231088
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 02:39 PM   #17 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

go with the first one, it can operate at 1.8v which is on the safe side

some mobo's will not boot at 1.9 or 2.0 because they don't come that way, so i would go with the first for sure
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 02:45 PM   #18 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Alright, I just ordered it. Thanks for all the help.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 01:59 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 184
Default

Well, we aren't quite talking about the SP-500 Model yet, but for the Antec power supply I suggest look at something else. I personally have one, and it just died on me yesterday, (3-4 months of use), the reviews at New Egg correspond to these warnings. I'm sorry I can't recommend a replacement yet, I'm still looking around myself.

Hope that helps with your build.
ssjheero_yuy99 is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 03:10 PM   #20 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

i use antec power supplys with all my builds and have yet to have one die on me

imo antec is the best
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.