Ordering Processor: 6700, Duo EE, or Quad EE? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2007, 07:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Default Ordering Processor: 6700, Duo EE, or Quad EE?

Hello, I am going to order a processor for a new gaming machine I am building. The machine will have 2GB of Mem (maybe 4) and the 8800GTX.

I want to be able to use this processor for the next three yrs or so and be able to play all the new fancy DX10 games.

Which one should I go with?

6700
Core Duo Conroe EE
Quad Core Kentsfield EE

Thanks!
__________________

mcclellanfsu is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 07:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

The e6700 is a waste of $200 extra dollars over the e6600....It will give you more bang for your buck, out of all those. Then just overclock it. The quad core is not the way to go now, because there are very few applications that take advantage of it.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 07:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

i second what big said
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 08:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default

i agree with fade2black2004 and big forget core 2 duo extreme if u want that so badly get a quad core they are similarly priced!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 09:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

lol, i agree with vernong's statement most of all. the e6600 is the best value and you won't be missing out performance wise by getting one. if you must pay out for an extreme edition you'd be better off with the qx6700.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 02:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Now before I start, I'm not saying I agree or disagree with anyone. What I am getting at is with the release of games like Crysis coming in the (somewhat near) future, I am worried that if I get the e6600 I will have to replace my chip before I want to.

I am looking for this computer that I build to last me AT LEAST 3 years without any (or very minimal) upgrades.

I am just worried that with games coming out that are (supposedly) as high-powered as Crysis it will set a standard for all new games and my rig will be outdated in the next two years. Games and other programs might actually be taking advantage of all 4 cores and i will be kicking myself for buying the 6600. Believe me, I would rather save the extra 500 it's going to cost me for the qx, but if it will save me from buying another chip in the next 3 years it may be worth it?

Am I worrying too much?
mcclellanfsu is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 03:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

nope as its alot of cash your spending.

I just think you need to go with what you want or take the advice these guys give you, at the end of the day none of us have crystal balls, so nobody knows what will be needed to run future games or if the e6600 will be outdated sooner than we think!
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 03:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 46
Default

I heard that most games and applications don't even use Cord 2 Duo processors to their fullest extent. I also heard that games like Oblivion and Rainbow 6 Vegas play better on other processors, I'm guessing the Pentium D. Can anyone confirm this?
Brandinho is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 04:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Where did you hear that? Core 2 Duos are the best processors for gaming, right now.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 06:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 46
Default

I believe I read it in the Rainbow Six Vegas forums. They were talking about mods to make the game run smoother, and someone researched about the game playing smoother on Non Duel Core systems. Wrong or right, it was interesting.
__________________

Brandinho is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.