Are Optys good for Gaming? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2006, 07:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lancec2c30
Just dont listen to the general when he goes all anti-AMD, because when the tables turn he will be booing intel.
Quote:
Originally posted by The General
There is no reason to buy/build an AMD system right now unless you're just another AMD fanboy who wants to pay more for slower performance.
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 07:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

having components that only work with an amd (ie socket 939 mobo), and with no budget to change over to c2d makes it a good reason to buy it RIGHT NOW if he wants to upgrade, i think.
he can get a cpu that could be tremendously better than his current set-up (no sig so i don't know) for 150 bucks versus 3 to 500 more.
go for it, agent smith!

EDIT: lol whirlwind! juice up that 6600 son! look forward to seein 1.0ghz + in your sig soon...
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 08:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

my current setup is an s754 Athlon64 3400+. i am taking 1gig of my 1.5gigs of memory out of it. this build is less of a replacement full on, and more of a stop gap until '08 when i will be going all out and getting a new machine all together. this is simply upgrading my mobo/cpu. i first wanted an X2 but they are either nonexsistent in s939, or they are waaay over priced. Thanks for the replies, i understand general's frustration i know alot of fan boys on both sides. a friend of mine built a rig with a 3.4ghz p4 the same time i built my last, and i told him that clawhammers outran prescots, but he was such a big fan boy it didnt matter to him at all.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 11:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I have a Sempron 2800+ overclocked to 2.0GHZ. coupled with my 7900 GT, I can still play most games at max settings without lag.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 11:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by UA_Iron
Too bad you dont live around a Fry's electronics.

I've seen a E6300 with mobo combo for $169. It was an ECS mobo, but so what.

With that budget why consider upgrading, what are you upgrading from?

You can get an AMD 64 4000+ for like under 89 bucks now.
yea there is a frys like 30 mins from my house. i was gonna get that e6300+ecs p4m800pro v2 but i did not have the money at the time. now when i actually have the money for it i dont see the combo deal anymroe i'm mad.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 01:01 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
I've said it before, and I'll say it again:

There is no reason to buy/build an AMD system right now unless you're just another AMD fanboy who wants to pay more for slower performance.
Having a small budget is plenty reason to go with AMD. As soon as you pass the $180 processor price point, its all Intel. But anything below that, you'd have to go with AMD, and the Athlon 64 (or Opteron) is the best choice at that price level.

Telling people to go Intel is one thing. Saying, "nothing to see here" incessantly ever single time that anyone says a word of praise about AMD is another. Stop it, its getting annoying. We can tell an AMD fanboy when we see one, thank you very much.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 01:07 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TriEclipse
Having a small budget is plenty reason to go with AMD. As soon as you pass the $180 processor price point, its all Intel. But anything below that, you'd have to go with AMD, and the Athlon 64 (or Opteron) is the best choice at that price level.

Telling people to go Intel is one thing. Saying, "nothing to see here" incessantly ever single time that anyone says a word of praise about AMD is another. Stop it, its getting annoying. We can tell an AMD fanboy when we see one, thank you very much.
unless, like in this case, you still have DDR1 RAM, and maybe even an AGP card. then, it will cost a fair bit more than $180 to upgrade to a C2D
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 01:26 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Yes, ofcourse, valid point there. My friend owns a system with a 3200+, 1GB DDR1, and an AGP card. He does not want to be stuck with any outdated components. So to upgrade any major component in his system, he would have to upgrade every other major component as well. A $180 C2D is hardly a possible upgrade for him, as it would come with atleast $300-$400 worth of other upgrades.

Admittedly, Core 2 Duo processors should be restricted to new builders. Like my friend, I would just wait until I had enough money for a new computer, instead of upgrading to lower-par systems. But for those that do want to upgrade from an AMD system, another Athlon 64 is definitely the best choice.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 12-21-2006, 05:15 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

i agree with trieclipse and others.
Budget CPU's Right now?

x2 3800+
opty 165
fx 55

Intel D 805 (you dont have the board so why bother with intel till you have the cash?)

for 150, id save a few and get the x2 3800.
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 05:07 PM   #20 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

just an update.

i ordered the arts yesterday.
along with the opty i got an Abit Ultra KN8 mobo
a newer 250gig hd, and a better coolermax psu.
i should have ordered last week since its christams weekend the parts wont be here until the end of next week, but i was too busy. im parring this up with a Geofrce 7900GT that was a gift to me. so i should have fairly decent system.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

« 2gb.. | Windows WGA »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.