Opty 144 from a 3000 venice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2006, 05:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default Opty 144 from a 3000 winnie

Is it worth it?

I'm really tempted to get one now, as my sister wants a PC, so I told her to get this CPU for it. This has made me jealose of the CPU, and may swap it for another opteron that I would buy straight away. Anyway, is it worth buying it over a 3000 winnie?

Thanks, Trif.

Made a mistake in title, its a winchester not a venice (not had much sleep, not the best condition to recomend a pc to my sister. :S)
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 05:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Well if you are planning on overclocking, then yes. It also has double the L2 cache.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 06:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

no is not worth it. u wont see and a dramatical performance gain. in video games cpmparing a amd 3000 to an fx 55(or whatever) u get 5-10(maybe 20) fps more. so for like 400-800 dollars u get 5-20 fps more not worth it. instead get a better video card. samething with anythging else the performance to price ratio goes down dramatically as u go up to higher processecors.
efd753 is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 09:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Besides, the upgrade you're making is hardly an upgrade at all. I mean, it's BETTER, but it's just not that good.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 10:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by efd753
no is not worth it. u wont see and a dramatical performance gain. in video games cpmparing a amd 3000 to an fx 55(or whatever) u get 5-10(maybe 20) fps more. so for like 400-800 dollars u get 5-20 fps more not worth it. instead get a better video card. samething with anythging else the performance to price ratio goes down dramatically as u go up to higher processecors.
More like 40fps
http://www23.tomshardware.com/cpu.ht...2=212&chart=68
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @2.4Ghz
Asrock ConroeXFire-eSATA2
Connect 3d X1800XT 256mb
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667Mhz
Belinea 19\" Widescreen LCD
Antec Super Lanboy
Seasonic ATX v2 430W
weringo is offline  
Old 01-01-2006, 10:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by weringo
More like 40fps
http://www23.tomshardware.com/cpu.ht...2=212&chart=68
The opty isn't even on that list
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.