Opterons and OC'ing...lower = better? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2006, 06:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

You guys are making me wince at the site of these newbish overclocks
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 06:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

maybe it was a Dud 180. like guides say ALL THE TIME! all cpus oc differently, maybe there was something wrong with theirs.....
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 07:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

So if you used cooling methods like phase change cooling...would the OC be much higher? Can the OC almost be unlimited if you were to use liquid nitrogen? Is heat the only thing stopping a processor and the components from going much higher?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 07:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by b1gapl
So if you used cooling methods like phase change cooling...would the OC be much higher? Can the OC almost be unlimited if you were to use liquid nitrogen? Is heat the only thing stopping a processor and the components from going much higher?
No, power is also stopping it. If you raise the volts to like a bajillion it will fry up. Also the CPU would just become too unstable at a certain speed no matter what the heat.
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 07:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

It's the Ghz wall therory. You cannot push speeds too high or the clock/pulse gets out of control and damages the hardware. That is the whole point of more than one processor core.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.