Opterons and OC'ing...lower = better? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2006, 03:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Question Opterons and OC'ing...lower = better?

Ok I was reading this article and they were OC'ing the opteron 180 and 165.


They stated Believe it or not, our Opteron 180 was practically allergic to overclocking. There's typically less headroom in a high-frequency part, but in light of our Opteron 165's sheer willingness, I didn't expect to see the Opteron 180 throwing errors in Prime95 at 2.58GHz and 1.375V. More voltage, again, wasn't the answer. I eventually decided not to bother finding the limits on the 180 because it was so much less interesting than the 165. So, here's how the Opteron 165 performs at 2.65GHz...

article can be found here http://techreport.com/reviews/2006q1...0/index.x?pg=1

They used 2GB of DDR 400 ram in the test setups...


So Im thinkin Is my Opty 175 going to be a bad OC'er becuase it has no headroom? like it said,The 180 was almost allergic to it...

Im thinking is lower Opteron better?

some one please explain
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 03:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

It doesn't say what the stepping is anywhere in the article...

The only way to find out if your CPU is any good at overclocking, is to overclock it and find out.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 04:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
The only way to find out if your CPU is any good at overclocking, is to overclock it and find out.
id have to agree with that lol
espeed is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 04:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

You'll never know what you'll achieve with your CPU because they are all different and will be able to achieve different OCs.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 05:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Basically all the opterons will OC to around the same speed because the higher versions are the same as the 165 just with a higher speed.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 05:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

My 165 is at 2.8GHz, the only thing keeping it from going higher is heat. I need water cooling
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 05:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
My 165 is at 2.8GHz, the only thing keeping it from going higher is heat. I need water cooling
Boo hoo
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 05:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

it's not needed. Only for bragging rights.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 06:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

My Opteron just doesnt want to go further

2.85Ghz @ 1.55V, idles at 35C :shocked:
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 06:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Yeah it is, when it hits over 50c on air cooling, thats when it fails out on prime. That, and the fact that if I try to raise voltage any higher, it loses stability, and that is a sure sign of heat being the problem. And voltage is not very high, mind you. Only 1.5v.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.