Opterons - OC and Gaming? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2006, 06:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default Opterons - OC and Gaming?

Hey, does anyone know how these perform in games and OC'ing?

AMD Opteron 148

AMD Opteron 150

AMD Opteron 165

I need to know how they compare to each other due to L2 cache, OC'ing, compared to the 64s(3700 and 4000) PLEASE HELP ME! Thanks...
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 06:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
adam02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 353
Default

150= NO NO, the 148 will easily overclock to 150. these are decent for gaming, but the best choice is the 165.
__________________

adam02 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 06:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 135
Default

on the OCing section of this forum is this sticky
has a TON of useful information on all processors.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.0 Ghz
ABS Tagan BZ 800W
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L
eVGA 9800 GX2
G.SKILL 2x2Gb DDR2 1000
150GB RAPTOR 10k RPM
SUNBEAM AC-9B-HUVB
snick is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

YAYYYY at least i know snick reads stickys
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 135
Default

yes, it's a new me, i've decided to do research on things before i respond to them....
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.0 Ghz
ABS Tagan BZ 800W
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L
eVGA 9800 GX2
G.SKILL 2x2Gb DDR2 1000
150GB RAPTOR 10k RPM
SUNBEAM AC-9B-HUVB
snick is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

Well that sticky doesn't do me tremendous amount of good... I've been there before.

So you're telling me...that i could get this DC 1.8GHz S939...oc it to like a 2.6GHz (with a a zalman copper?) and it would be a DUAL CORE beast for only $325?

Would this perform as well as a 64 4000 @ 2.8GHz? (Similar price..,)
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

My 165 is overclocked to 2.75GHz, it can do 2.8 with more voltage.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

wow....nice. So thats obviously better than a single core OC @ 2.8Ghz I guess....

and its dual core.... *pondering*

I think I like this opty 165! I'll watch the price and plan to build with an opty 165 DC on an ASUS A8N-SLI Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4.
*waits for price to drop...* these aren't going anywhere soon are they?
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

If you're planning on waiting, then I would wait for intel to release it's new conroe CPU's.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 07:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

say what? intel? is that going to make the AMD's cheaper? I hope thats what you're getting at...I would never use an intel, ever. haha.

"Intel is mearly a skidmark on the underpants of the CPU industry..."
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.